Smoky Sausage Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Used a jar sauce (4 cheese rosa) and chicken-pineapple sausage with 2/3 sharp cheddar and 1/3 smoked gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This dish is pretty darned good! I used fire roasted diced tomatos as that's what I had on hand, undercooked the pasta by 3 minutes and used a smoky cheddar which I doubled and it was really good. I wanted to eat a second serving but the richness of it kept me from being able to finish it all. My husband enjoyed it and told me he'd love for me to make this agin! I'd say tonight's dinner was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Ayngyl
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very easy, very good! I used a mix of sharp cheddar and Colby jack cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
While I was waiting for the oven to preheat and the pasta to cook, I decided to brown up the smoked sausage in a skillet with some onion and garlic-it was a nice touch, both for the look of the sausage and the flavor additions of the onions and garlic. When stirring in the cheese, I felt the need to add more and am glad I did. Other than that, this would be better with fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made some serious modifications - but I loved it once it was done: We used Three Cheese Light alfredo sauce instead of the recipe creations, I used minced onions because I'm lazy, added minced garlic, used italian flavored diced tomatoes, used Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage from Hillshire Farms, and used whole wheat elbow macaroni. I also put the whole cup of cheese in and then put another half cup on the top since I didn't read the directions well enough ;) I called it mac & cheese for my 5 year old twins and they loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe was seriously saved, by the review of Terry E. I sauteed some roasted garlic chicken sausage, as that is what I had. I like sausage crisp, so I wasn't going to bake it raw. Like that reviewer I added the same additions: I did 1/2 green pepper sliced, 1 large garlic clove minced, and 1/4 small white onion sliced. After sauteing the sausage slices I turned the heat down and slightly caramelized those ingredients. I also added a pinch of garlic salt, and a 1/2 cup extra cheese to thicken it, as I found the sauce thin and in need of some extra flavor. I liked all of the ingredients, but there was an after taste of the tin can to the sauce. I am not against using canned sauces or soups, on occasion to save time, as long as they blend well with the rest of the ingredients in the dish. It was fine for my family, this evening, just not a dish I would serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good with a few tweaks. Definitely needed diced green pepper and onion (sauted with the sliced sausage) and used Rotel in place of the diced tomatoes. Instead of smoked sausage I used venison ring bologna and that was perfect. Easy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was pretty good. I will probably make it again, but will add some sweet onion, garlic, and definitely brown the smoked sausage. My kids said it needed some bacon so I may try that as well. Pretty quick meal for a work night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My family really enjoyed this, but I had made too much pasta, so the sauce did not cover all of it. Other than that, it was pretty good as it was. I might suggest adding a little bit of colored bell peppers to it, but it was good enough to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Surprisingly good I have to admit I didn't think it would be. I did add chopped green peppers, garlic and sliced onion sautéed them all with the smoke sausage, then added cheese and Progresso Three Cheese Cooking Sauce and penne. followed direction and voila! Very good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States