Smoky Sausage Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
While I was waiting for the oven to preheat and the pasta to cook, I decided to brown up the smoked sausage in a skillet with some onion and garlic-it was a nice touch, both for the look of the sausage and the flavor additions of the onions and garlic. When stirring in the cheese, I felt the need to add more and am glad I did. Other than that, this would be better with fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I thought this was a pretty good recipe. However, it does come out kind of bland and lacking in seasoning. For me though, this is an extremely easy fix. I seasoned mine with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and some of my home made Italian seasoning (crushed sun dried tomatoes, basil, oregano, dried garlic, etc). I didn't have any smoked cheese, so I added a little bit of smoked paprika also. Still, this dish was really good and my family loved it. I suggest to anyone to experiment with it some more and make it their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This dish is pretty darned good! I used fire roasted diced tomatos as that's what I had on hand, undercooked the pasta by 3 minutes and used a smoky cheddar which I doubled and it was really good. I wanted to eat a second serving but the richness of it kept me from being able to finish it all. My husband enjoyed it and told me he'd love for me to make this agin! I'd say tonight's dinner was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Surprisingly good I have to admit I didn't think it would be. I did add chopped green peppers, garlic and sliced onion sautéed them all with the smoke sausage, then added cheese and Progresso Three Cheese Cooking Sauce and penne. followed direction and voila! Very good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe was seriously saved, by the review of Terry E. I sauteed some roasted garlic chicken sausage, as that is what I had. I like sausage crisp, so I wasn't going to bake it raw. Like that reviewer I added the same additions: I did 1/2 green pepper sliced, 1 large garlic clove minced, and 1/4 small white onion sliced. After sauteing the sausage slices I turned the heat down and slightly caramelized those ingredients. I also added a pinch of garlic salt, and a 1/2 cup extra cheese to thicken it, as I found the sauce thin and in need of some extra flavor. I liked all of the ingredients, but there was an after taste of the tin can to the sauce. I am not against using canned sauces or soups, on occasion to save time, as long as they blend well with the rest of the ingredients in the dish. It was fine for my family, this evening, just not a dish I would serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good with a few tweaks. Definitely needed diced green pepper and onion (sauted with the sliced sausage) and used Rotel in place of the diced tomatoes. Instead of smoked sausage I used venison ring bologna and that was perfect. Easy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made recipe as written with no tweaks. As is this recipe was not a winner in my house. It works as a base but it needs help to make it something good. I doubt I would make it again but if I did I would add garlic, onion, pepper and other seasonings to give it better flavor and hide the from a can taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Very easy and much better than I thought it was going to be. I used garlic flavored al fresco natural chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I used crumbled up sausage, and added some green pepper and red onion, and some broccoli flowerettes. Topped with mozzarella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I usually try to see the bright side of every dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States