Smoky Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were really good. I would make them again. Used dried beef and havarti cheese. Couldn't find smoked beef or even corned beef. Not really fancy enough for company unless the chicken is trimmed well, but a great variety meal for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
YUM! I don't like apricots or mayonnaise, but I loved this! I improvised with what I had available and used prosciutto instead of beef. I also rolled up some goat cheese inside for a creamy texture. I used bigger pieces of chicken so 2 rolls were enough for a meal. My husband asked for it again the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Great recipe! Two changes that I think it made a huge change to the flavor. I added barbacue sauce instead of ketchup. I also added smoked gouda cheese to the roll up. It was a huge hit at my dinner club. One other thing I made this as an appetizer and I think the size was a little to large for an appetizer. If you do use this as an appetizer make sure you cute the chicken cutlet into fourths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was...interesting. Not bad, everyone ate it, but it was a little weird. I don't think I'll make it again. I'd also recommend BBQ sauce instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this recipe for Easter Lunch, and my whole family absolutely LOVED it. I used a lot more of the marinade and had a gravy. I also added a bit of garlic to the marinade. It was a winner!!!Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
OMG! This was wonderful! I use the sauce mixture for other things as well. Chicken quarters, pork chops, boston butt roast, etc. My husband watched me make the sauce, and he was like, what in the world are you mixing? I told him not to knock it until he tried it. He raved about it and told me I had to make it again! So if you are unsure, try it! You won't be sorry! I used the sauce as gravy for our rice. Kids went nuts over it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
We loved these! I used sopressata (an italian salami) instead of smoked beef & I nuked it for a minute to render some of the fat out. I seasoned my chicken w/ Paula Deen's house seasoning (garlic powder, salt & pepper) after pounding & I added a tsp of hubby's hot sauce (roasted peppers, onions & garlic) to the apricot mixture, reserving some of the apricot sauce to dip with. Due to the pasty color of the chicken, I broiled it for a couple of minutes after it was done, to add some visual appeal. I put a smear of apricot sauce on the plate (take a big spoonful, dump it at one end of the plate & then slide the spoon across the plate...creating a "smear") & sliced the roll-ups in half to reveal the beautiful pinwheel center. Garnished w/a sprig of fresh thyme. It looked great & tasted even better...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This gets major points as it saved me at dinner time - I had all the ingredients and the kids gobbled it up. I used smoked turkey instead of beef, 4 slices per chicken breast. Next time, and there WILL be a next time, I may use less ketchup than called for, maybe substitute BBQ sauce...simply a preference. I don't like apricot jam or ketchup and I liked this meal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I wasn't too sure about this since there weren't any reviews and ratings. However, I was so tired of the same ol' same ol' I decided to give it a try. I was so surprised how GOOD this turned out. The mixture (ketchup, jam, mayo) worked very well together, leaving it a sweet taste. I did season the chicken with S&P and garlic powder before rolling it up with beef. I think next time, I'm going to roll it up with a slice of Provolone cheese. MMM that sounds good. The entire family thought it was a hit. I scored tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulya, Homyel, Belarus
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States