Smoky Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I almost didn't write a review for this one because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I was really happy with the results so I decided to share what I did. With the onion, I added some finely chopped carrots & celery. It adds a little more flavor and a few vitamins. Plus kids hardly notice they are eating a few extra veggies. I cooked the veggies, potatos, and sausage on the stove in just one can of chicken broth. After I mashed the potatos a little, I transfered everything to my crockpot, added one can of evaporated milk and the velveeta cheese. It was easy to let it all blend together in the crock pot and I didn't have to watch it. We left and when we returned, it was nice & thick and just needed to be stirred a little. I used only one can each of the broth & milk instead of two. To make it a little thinner, I might add a little 2% or a little more broth next time. Like other reviewers, I cut way back on the butter used to saute the veggies. I think a couple of tablespoons is sufficient. I also used a little less sausage and chopped it smaller than bite sized in order to appeal more to the younger members of the family. This one is definitely a keeper with these modifications for my house. I love any recipe that allows me to have the crockpot do the cooking while I'm away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
With modifications, this is a very good soup, especially on cold nights. I added some garlic (2-3 cloves) to the onions while I sauteed them in the butter. I also added bits of smoked sausage BEFORE I added the stock. Gave the soup more smoky, hearty flavor. I also added a pinch cayenne (red pepper flakes or Tabasco would be good too). Finally, I used 5 large baking potatoes and only 1 can of evaporated milk. It made a ton of soup, and my picky boyfriend ate 2 heaping bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is my all-time favorite potato soup recipe! I've been using it for a few years, but I did make some changes. I use dehydrated onion and leave out the margarine completely. I also use beef broth instead of chicken (I've made it both ways and we like the beef best). I know it would be less fat using turkey sausage, but the beef tastes so much better. :oP I normally slice and cook the sausage separately and drain it well to remove quite a bit of fat before adding to the soup. Make some homemade bread with this, and you've got a stick-to-your-ribs meal that is true comfort food on a cold winter's day. :o) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This soup was a hit with my family, and I enjoyed it quite a bit too. I did make a few changes, in that I used whole milk instead of evaporated, added minced garlic while sauteing the onions,used only five potatoes instead of six, and added chopped broccoli to it as well. I also didn't bother to peel the potatoes, and didn't really mash it all that much, since I prefer the potato chunks. It was relatively easy to make though, and I will definitely be making this again when we're in a soup mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was really good; my husband & two children liked it a lot. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it didn't have enough of a "smoked" flavor, when made as directed. I ended up adding some liquid smoke & next time will use smoked cheddar cheese in addition to the Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe!!! Even my husband loved it and he doesn't like soup OR sausage!!! I did make some slight modifications-thanks to the reviews already posted :) I only used one can of evaporated milk. I also sauteed the sausage with the onions and added about a 1/2 T of minced garlic with the onion. Instead of cooking it all on the stove I moved it to the crock pot when it was time to add the cheese. I also added 1/2 bag of shredded mozzarella and shredded cheddar to it. It cooked on high in the crock pot for about an hour...until all the cheese was melted. This was definitely easy to make and tasted wonderful!!!!! Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is the best potato soup ever .. Really no changes needed . Nothing else needs to be said bouy this one .. MMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is SOOOOO good! Perfect for the fall weather. I took PrincessApril's advice and sauteed the sausage prior to adding the broth. Like others, I added a few seasonings (cayenne & garlic), for my taste, as well as celery. Absolutely fabulous! Thank you Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Schmelzer
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
I was looking for a new way to use smoked sausage when I found this recipe. Definitely a keeper. Very good. The second time I made this with less fat and it's still good. I omitted the butter and used a pan spray. Fat free evaporated milk, light velveeta, fat free/low sodium broth, healthy choice smoked sausage. Yummy. Only problem was the milk curdling during reheating -- don't know if the full fat version does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States