Smoky Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was great. Love, love, love it. I didn't use the margarine, just threw the onion and some celery in the broth. The rest I kept the same. Husband said this is a saver and I agree. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this today for Thanksgiving and it was quite a hit! I added celery and garlic when I sauteed the onions. It was pretty rich-- next time I might try it with whole milk instead of the evaporated milk. But it was a big hit, nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I was trying to find recipes to use smoked sausage (I love it, but hubby isnt a big fan) I picked this one, because hubby loves canned potato soups. Anyway, its a fantastic soup, I only tweeked a couple things; first I used about 2T of olive oil instead of 1/4c of margarine. I also sauted and drained the sausage before I added it to cut the greasy taste (I also used 2 13oz pks, so it was more sausage) And I used closer to 10 potatoes, so that we would still have alot of bigger chunks of them when it was all mixed. All in all this is now a staple in our family's menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My family absolutely loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian
Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! A friend of mine use to make it when we worked together. Its been about 4 years and I finally found the recipe. The only change I made was I added steamed broccoli to it at the end. It adds the perfect missing ingredient! I didn't mash up the potatoes too much I love chunky soup. I bought fresh french bread for dipping in the soup. It was amazing! I even made it for my baby shower and put it in a crockpot so people can serve themselves and about 4 people asked me for the recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This soup is so good! My family loved it. I increased the quantity of processed cheese by a 1/2 lb and only used one can of evaporated milk cause I ran out of room in my pot. No cornstarch necessary. I garnished the bowls with a hand full of grated cheddar cheese and chives. Loved It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Added garlic. Tasty, but not terribly special. Needed something more...not sure what. Will make again and experiment a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I just received 7 thumbs up for this recipe from my children(3 thumbs from the 4 year old!). So, I would have to say this was a raving success at my house. I will be putting this in my recipe box and using it often! I also followed some of the changes with 1 can milk, plus I used regular shredded cheddar cheese, and a little garlic. Otherwise it was straight from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I'm going to rename this "Naughty Potato Soup" because it is SO not for the health conscious but so addictively yummy! I tweaked the original recipe a bit to fit what I had on hand by substituting ham for the smoked sausage, red potatoes, and half and half for the evaporated milk. I also didn't realize I had bought 2% Velveeta so that may have changed the consistency and flavor a bit. I still thought it was pretty tasty and served it with steamed broccoli to ease my conscience about the gobs of fat in the soup. If my family approves (they haven't tried it yet!) this will definitely make the list for easy weeknight recipes. NOTE: Be very careful after the cheese and milk is added. It will scorch to the bottom of the pot if the heat is too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMIELOU82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was really good; my husband & two children liked it a lot. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it didn't have enough of a "smoked" flavor, when made as directed. I ended up adding some liquid smoke & next time will use smoked cheddar cheese in addition to the Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States