Smoky Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I buy food for a cooperative house at Purdue and have been told that no potato soup has ever worked. This soup worked very well to serve 25 people and have had it requested to be made more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was an OK soup. A little bland for my tastes but my husband and boys LOVED it! I served it up in the Italian Bread Bowls (on this website). I will make it again, but maybe add a little garlic in my serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
With modifications, this is a very good soup, especially on cold nights. I added some garlic (2-3 cloves) to the onions while I sauteed them in the butter. I also added bits of smoked sausage BEFORE I added the stock. Gave the soup more smoky, hearty flavor. I also added a pinch cayenne (red pepper flakes or Tabasco would be good too). Finally, I used 5 large baking potatoes and only 1 can of evaporated milk. It made a ton of soup, and my picky boyfriend ate 2 heaping bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Very good and very simple to make. A hit with everyone in the family-- including both the toddler and the preschooler, which is a feat! I think the potato masher step wasn't really needed, since I like a little chunkier of a texture. I'll try it without mashing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
It was great, I substituted the little smokies saugage and it worked great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was very good. I had some trouble mashing the potatoes with the sausages in the way, though. I'm sure that can be worked around, though. It was almost too rich- I couldn't even finish my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was ok. I'm not a big fan of smoked sausage, but my hubby is. He has been bugging me to find a soup where I can use it, so I tried this one. I used butter instead of margarine and added a little more cheese. Next time I don't think I'll mash any of the potatoes. It gave the soup a strange texture and there were no "chunkies" except the sausage. Could add most any veggies here. A good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Yummy, I dont tend to like soup, but this one hit the spot. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I almost didn't write a review for this one because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I was really happy with the results so I decided to share what I did. With the onion, I added some finely chopped carrots & celery. It adds a little more flavor and a few vitamins. Plus kids hardly notice they are eating a few extra veggies. I cooked the veggies, potatos, and sausage on the stove in just one can of chicken broth. After I mashed the potatos a little, I transfered everything to my crockpot, added one can of evaporated milk and the velveeta cheese. It was easy to let it all blend together in the crock pot and I didn't have to watch it. We left and when we returned, it was nice & thick and just needed to be stirred a little. I used only one can each of the broth & milk instead of two. To make it a little thinner, I might add a little 2% or a little more broth next time. Like other reviewers, I cut way back on the butter used to saute the veggies. I think a couple of tablespoons is sufficient. I also used a little less sausage and chopped it smaller than bite sized in order to appeal more to the younger members of the family. This one is definitely a keeper with these modifications for my house. I love any recipe that allows me to have the crockpot do the cooking while I'm away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
My husband and I really liked the taste of this soup. I ended up adding another half pound of sausage. I think the next time I make it though, I will use half of the chicken broth so it's thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States