Smoky Mountain Chipotle Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Mmmmm...sooo good. I've been making a quick and easy version of Smoky Mtn. Chicken for years with just a bottled BBQ sauce. But this BBQ sauce was sooo good, and sooo worth the effort- and it was actually very little effort. I will make extra batches of the sauce and keep them on hand for all my BBQ sauce needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT! I didn't have any bourbon at the house, so....I used capt morgan (lol)...and it turned out suprisingly well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Delish, but I must confess. I misread the recipe and added 1 tablespoon of the adobo sauce. It tasted great though. I made this twice in a row and still just could not get enough of it. The first time I made it without the cheese and bacon, the second time with it. It's much better with cheese and bacon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This recipe is packed with flavor! I used cheddar instead of provolone and skipped the bourbon. It's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Great blend of flavors with just the right amount of bite. I didn't bother with the topping of bacon, red onion, or provolone cheese and it was scrumptous. I did use only 1 cup of ketchup and added 1 cup of Cattleman's Smoke House Barbeque Sauce. I think using 2 cups of ketchup would have made it too strong with tomato flavor. Thanks for the recipe, Janine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
When I made the sauce it was very spicy, I was surprised after I cooked the chicken with it that it was not as spicy any longer. The recipe was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was great. The whole family loved it. Prefer spicier food, so I used half a can of Chipotle with adobo sauce. Otherwise, made exactly as the recipe stated. Used the other half can of chipotle in my mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe. Will try this again, and try it on a pork loin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was delicious, but it requires a lot of ingredients I don't keep on hand (whiskey, 2 cups of ketchup...) I didn't feel like amount of money, time and effort that went into making the sauce was worth the end result. Again, it tasted great; it wasn't bad in any way, it just was not as good as I would expect for something requiring that much effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEY1
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Delicious! The sauce is amazing, I wouldn't change a thing! The chicken stayed very moist and tender. We will make this again and again! Thanks for another great recipe, Janine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
We made this into a sandwich! It was so good!!! All the different flavors worked so well together! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States