Smoky Mountain Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by EllenPrice
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
So yummy!I didn't add any of the garnishes (my husband isn't a fan of the add ons). My family and I truly enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllenPrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Pretty good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Family loves this! We like to use provolone cheese slices and add sliced mushrooms under the cheese for a little extra wonderfulness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisc1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I gave this 5 stars even though I made a big change by using dry ranch dressing instead of Italian seasonings (I'll try the correct seasonings next time) and not as much BBQ sauce as suggested. My chicken bakked about 35-40 minutes total, and started out with everything except the ham and cheese which was added the last 5 minutes, but it was so juicy and very, very good at the end. We'll do this again soon - thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Cook times seemed way off which ruined the rest of my meal. The chicken needed closer to 40 minutes to cook before I added anything else. I didn't use a whole bottle of sauce just enough to cover them completely. Good flavor otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I really liked this! I also tried it with honey mustard (which I usually like better), but the recipe was much better witht he bbq sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
So Yummy! It's even great with whatever sliced meat and cheese you have available! We used sliced pastrami and provolone cheese last time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonenberger0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was decent, but nothing special. I order a similar dish at Chili's (Monterey chicken) and was really excited when I saw this recipe, hoping to be able to re-create my restaurant favorite at home. Beyond the obvious difference (Chili's entree contains no ham), it would appear that the two are quite similar. To my dismay, this was nothing like Chili's Monterey chicken. Because I could not find pre-sliced Monterey-Jack cheese, I used Colby-Jack cheese instead (my only change). I regret that I purchased extra-thin sliced cheese tho.... It didn't melt as I wanted it to, so the appearance of my chicken was not what I'd expected. :( Mashed red potatoes with white pepper gravy, a steamed broccoli & carrot medley and garlic toast paired nicely with this (and made me feel like I was eating at the "chain"). It's unfortunate that the sides ended up being the star of our meal. Both my hubs and I agree that when the craving strikes, we'll visit our local hangout for the "real" deal. Thanks anyways, Kellie. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made this last night, however I didn't have ham or the tomato to garnish. Still turned out great. Was a big hit for both my son and my BF. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Simply delicious. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. I used the garlic powder and italian seasoning "to taste", as directed, and I probably used a lot less than 1 teaspoon of each. I felt that it added a complexity of flavor that you couldn't get anywhere else, though, and I wouldn't ever think of leaving them out. Instead of Monterey Jack cheese, I used mild cheddar, since that's what I had. My husband ate one bite, declared it "card worthy", then proceeded to eat 3 of the 4 breasts by himself. Definitely a compliment. :) Thanks Kellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States