Smoky Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL mac'n'cheese recipe and very simple to make. I found the smoked cheddar in the deli/gourmet section of the supermarket and grated it myself. I made sure to use whipping cream as suggested in the recipe. I did not make any change whatsoever to the recipe, and it came out perfect. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe. I doubled the amount of sauce because I prefer a creamier mac 'n cheese. I also used whole wheat elbows and drained the tomatoes so that the sauce wasn't overwhelmed with a tomato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
i added some sweet italian sausage and fresh basil which made tasted fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was skeptical of the tomato and green onion in this mac n cheese recipe but ended up really liking it! I will keep this recipe on hand but will continue to experiment with other mac n cheese recipes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great recipe - I was under a tight timeline, so I had to use a sharp/mild cheddar mix instead, as well as forgetting the scallions ;) But all in all, turned out great for my last minute potluck contribution. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I would rate this recipe a 4. For my taste, the smoky cheddar was a bit too much smoky flavored. It may have been the cheese although it was quite expensive. Next time, I will use regular cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
A bit much with the smokey flavor. Too much of one medium cheese resulting in the dish being a bit greasy. Not bad overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
love it but I cheat completely, using this recipe just as a base. I can only imagine how fabulous it would be if I didn't cheat. I just used a box of plain ole Kraft Mac n Cheese, then added the mustard, green onions, smoke flavoring, drained tomatoes, etc. Basically just a doctored up box of mac n cheese but fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicious and more interesting than the average mac 'n cheese! Will make again when in the mood for mac 'n cheese. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
OMGoodness! Be prepared to lick the spoon and pot after and during this one! I used table cream (18%) and it didn't curdle. I only used 1/4 of the cheese called for as the smoked cheddar and the other 3/4 cheese asked for I used old cheddar. I used 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes because that's all I had. Next time I will try bacon in this and some fresh cut tomatoes sprinkled on top when serving:) Kids Looovved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States