Smoky Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL mac'n'cheese recipe and very simple to make. I found the smoked cheddar in the deli/gourmet section of the supermarket and grated it myself. I made sure to use whipping cream as suggested in the recipe. I did not make any change whatsoever to the recipe, and it came out perfect. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe. I doubled the amount of sauce because I prefer a creamier mac 'n cheese. I also used whole wheat elbows and drained the tomatoes so that the sauce wasn't overwhelmed with a tomato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
i added some sweet italian sausage and fresh basil which made tasted fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was skeptical of the tomato and green onion in this mac n cheese recipe but ended up really liking it! I will keep this recipe on hand but will continue to experiment with other mac n cheese recipes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great recipe - I was under a tight timeline, so I had to use a sharp/mild cheddar mix instead, as well as forgetting the scallions ;) But all in all, turned out great for my last minute potluck contribution. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I would rate this recipe a 4. For my taste, the smoky cheddar was a bit too much smoky flavored. It may have been the cheese although it was quite expensive. Next time, I will use regular cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
A bit much with the smokey flavor. Too much of one medium cheese resulting in the dish being a bit greasy. Not bad overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
love it but I cheat completely, using this recipe just as a base. I can only imagine how fabulous it would be if I didn't cheat. I just used a box of plain ole Kraft Mac n Cheese, then added the mustard, green onions, smoke flavoring, drained tomatoes, etc. Basically just a doctored up box of mac n cheese but fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicious and more interesting than the average mac 'n cheese! Will make again when in the mood for mac 'n cheese. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
OMGoodness! Be prepared to lick the spoon and pot after and during this one! I used table cream (18%) and it didn't curdle. I only used 1/4 of the cheese called for as the smoked cheddar and the other 3/4 cheese asked for I used old cheddar. I used 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes because that's all I had. Next time I will try bacon in this and some fresh cut tomatoes sprinkled on top when serving:) Kids Looovved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States