Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
WOW, this was really good, I used provolone in place of the swiss, because I really dont like swiss. I bet gruyer would be nice, anywhoo, I did not use the liquid smoke, but i did use roasted garlic instead to give it a deeper flavor, omg, with the breadcrumbs and parm on top, to die for!thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hobbs
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I try a lot of mac & cheese recipes and really enjoyed this one. I've never used cream cheese before, but it really gives the sauce a smooth creamy texture. To enhance the smokiness I added 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika and crumbled bacon. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was SOOO good!!! I followed the recipe pretty much except that I didn't have Swiss, so I used a "fiesta" mix of shredded cheese (Monterey Jack, Asiago, etc.), and I didn't top it with breadcrumbs. I've never had mac and cheese with liquid smoke, but it was absolutely delicious, and I love the flavor it added. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athena1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a wonderful mac and cheese recipe! I followed it exactly, w/one exception...i did not use the liquid smoke simply bc I did not have any. It was still delicious...it reminded me of my mom's homemade recipe...i will definitely make again...also easy for a beginner cook, and great for picky eaters like my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haro07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This. Is. Awesome! I wanted to sneak some veggies in for my kids, so I cut the macaroni in half and did a 12 oz. package of cauliflower I blanched for a couple minutes. I also sauteed a couple large handfuls of matchstick carrots in with the onion and garlic. My kids aren't big on cream cheese in their macaroni, so I used 1/2 c. of sour cream, which was a nice touch, and I also added a little Frank's. Everything else I kept the same. Very, very good. You couldn't tell that there was cauliflower or carrots in it. My kids and husband inhaled it and asked for more. I will suggest that if you make this, you might want to half it unless you have a big family. This fills a large 9x13 baking dish! TIP: If you chop the cauliflower in small pieces, it unnoticable when you add it to macaroni dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love this recipe! I didn't use the smoke flavoring though, instead I bought smoked sharp cheddar cheese and it was GREAT! Kids loved it and so did the hubby. I am going to make this mac & cheese for our 4th of july party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Pure comfort food! I made this for a side dish to BBQ chicken last night. Instead of using liquid smoke though, I diced up a chunk of double smoked hardwood bacon and sauteed it with the onions and garlic. OMG!!! I too needed to add a bit more milk because it was so thick. Awesome "adult" mac & chz! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Easy and tasty mac n cheese. I followed the recipe as written, but used penne b/c I did not have elbow macaroni. I loved the idea of using liquid smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
AWESOME!! I actually messed up and added the melted butter to the base and had to melt more butter for the topping so was especially fattening - but still VERY VERY good!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I loved this recipe ! Very tasty ! I did omit the smoke flavoring for personal reasons BUT it did not affect the wonderful taste. A good mix of cheeses. A keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States