Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
To many cheeses and messy to make. High in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was OK. Like other reviewers stated, it seemed really dry as I was making the sauce, so I added another cup of milk and another half cup of half and half. Also added paprika to the sauce and a little dried parsley in with the breadcrumbs. I also roasted my garlic before adding. All said and done it was a little bland, though. Pretty rich but bland. The smokiness didn't come out as much as I expected, but this might be because of the extra milk I added. I don't think I'll make it again, but if I was going to I would butter the bread crumbs first, use about half the flour the recipe called for and maybe change the cheeses around a bit. I like Swiss, but I think it overpowered the other cheeses in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This Mac and Cheese is the BEST!!!!!!! I usually make changes to all my recipes but there was no need for this one! This is PERFECTION! Thanks for such an amazing recipe! Will be using this tasty dish for all occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weinmuller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Oh my goodness, this is so good! When I tasted the smallest drop of the liquid smoke, I thought that maybe I should leave it out because it tasted terrible on its own, but I'm glad I left it in. As soon as I put the cheese in the sauce it was clear that the liquid smoke was adding the perfect little oomph! to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Wow. It was a little complicated to make because I had multiple things going on. But I made this as a side for new years and it went over so well. Left out the smoky flavoring and due to not having enough jack cheese had to up the other kinds and it was still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I really liked this recipe. We used mid-sized shells instead of the traditional elbow macaroni. That worked well. The cheese mixture, when we made the recipe, was very thick...I agree with another reviewer that perhaps additional milk or half&half would create a smoother cheese. Ours turned out VERY thick...but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Parrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Tried this for Christmas dinner. We followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Everyone commented on how tasty the mac & cheese was and everyone had seconds (if not thirds) and said they wanted the recipe. Only downside is that the kids did not care for it (not plain enough for their immature pallets I guess). Next time I will try with crumbled bacon (didn't try this time as our main course was ham). Thanks for this yummy recipe Eshel! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theocsuvmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
AMAZING! payed close attention to the reviews that gave this recipe a bad rating..i was worried to make after that but it sounded so appetizingly interesting and different so i did it any way.... the biggest complaint ppl had was that it was too dry...so i doubled the half and half and the milk 1 cup of half and half 3 cups of whole milk....VERY creamy and delicious... i also cooked some bacon with the garlic and onions but i don't think it needed it. for the topping since the recipe didn't call for butter in the bread crumbs i used ritz butter crackers instead...stayed very light and crispy...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This came out very well. I buttered the bread crumbs before spreading them because every time I have a recipe that does NOT call for doing that, it has sandpaper on top at the end, though I realize that the method as written does work fine for other people. I twice-baked this recipe (30 minutes the day I assembled it, another 30 minutes the day I served it) and it came out terrific. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Thanksgiving HIT!!! My family loved this recipe. I took the advice of others and added a little more milk and half-and-half. Came out WONDERFUL. The liquid smoke is a nice surprise as well!! The only negative aspect of cooking this mac and cheese is the preparation time; this recipe takes a while to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States