Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Wow. It was a little complicated to make because I had multiple things going on. But I made this as a side for new years and it went over so well. Left out the smoky flavoring and due to not having enough jack cheese had to up the other kinds and it was still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I really liked this recipe. We used mid-sized shells instead of the traditional elbow macaroni. That worked well. The cheese mixture, when we made the recipe, was very thick...I agree with another reviewer that perhaps additional milk or half&half would create a smoother cheese. Ours turned out VERY thick...but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Parrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Tried this for Christmas dinner. We followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. Everyone commented on how tasty the mac & cheese was and everyone had seconds (if not thirds) and said they wanted the recipe. Only downside is that the kids did not care for it (not plain enough for their immature pallets I guess). Next time I will try with crumbled bacon (didn't try this time as our main course was ham). Thanks for this yummy recipe Eshel! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theocsuvmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
AMAZING! payed close attention to the reviews that gave this recipe a bad rating..i was worried to make after that but it sounded so appetizingly interesting and different so i did it any way.... the biggest complaint ppl had was that it was too dry...so i doubled the half and half and the milk 1 cup of half and half 3 cups of whole milk....VERY creamy and delicious... i also cooked some bacon with the garlic and onions but i don't think it needed it. for the topping since the recipe didn't call for butter in the bread crumbs i used ritz butter crackers instead...stayed very light and crispy...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This came out very well. I buttered the bread crumbs before spreading them because every time I have a recipe that does NOT call for doing that, it has sandpaper on top at the end, though I realize that the method as written does work fine for other people. I twice-baked this recipe (30 minutes the day I assembled it, another 30 minutes the day I served it) and it came out terrific. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Thanksgiving HIT!!! My family loved this recipe. I took the advice of others and added a little more milk and half-and-half. Came out WONDERFUL. The liquid smoke is a nice surprise as well!! The only negative aspect of cooking this mac and cheese is the preparation time; this recipe takes a while to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was super-excited to try this - I made it for a shower and was expecting rave reviews. I thought it was just OK, though - certainly not what I expected for that large number of ingredients. Of all the dishes I made for the shower (there were 6), this was the only one I did not receive requests for the recipe. There was a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I was looking for a mac and cheese recipe that didn't call for a processed cheese as the main ingredient (like Velveta) and came across this one. Very good, however, I would skip the flour step. This recipe is basically how I make alfredo sauce, just with different cheeses. And I have never used flour or any thickener. If it's too thin, add more cheese! I also suggest using a whisk when adding the milk/half & half. I've found that when you heat the butter and milk together (in any cheese sauce), whisking for a good minute or two before adding anything else will help it from separating later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
this was so yummy! It even tated great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Um... nope. Made this for dinner tonight. It is chilly here in Chicago (I think fall is setting in early!). A comforting meal seemed to be the ticke. And what better food to serve than creamy baked macaroni and cheese (not to mention this recipe has been on my "to try" list for quite a while)! To my disappointment, this was BLAND and had a very unappealing, pasty texture. I had to add an additional cup of liquid (1/2 c. half-half and 1/2 c. milk) to achieve a consistency other than cement (and my sauce was still terribly thick, regardless). My other gripe is that there is WAAAAY too much topping. It should be substantial enough to cover your pasta, but not so much so that it creates a thick, powdery layer on top. Both the Parm cheese and breadcrums need to be tossed with melted butter and then sprinkled over all. I've never seen a recipe that didn't include the addition of melted butter, but left all common sense out the window and am sad I did. I pretty much followed Eshel's directions to the letter except for subbing mini penne pasta for macaroni (at the last minute, I realized I was out) and Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs for plain ones. Other than these two changes and the addition of liquid, I followed this recipe exactly. Sorry, Eschel, my fiance and I agree that this is not worth a repeat. We didn't even save the leftovers. What a waste (sigh...). Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States