Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this along with meatloaf tonight and it was amazing! I don't know what those 1 star raters are talking about. I did make a change or two. The first change I made was to the roux. I did not add 1/4 cup flour because in my experience with making mac and cheese, too much flour will make it dry no matter how much liquid you use. I instead melted the butter, cooked the onion and garlic then slowly drizzled in the flour and stopped at a certain point. Then after that I let it cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Then I added the milk and half and half and cooked for ten minutes. After that I did the following in order with the pan on low on the stove: I added the cream cheese, stirring until the mixture was smooth, then I added the Parmesan and mixed until smooth, then I added the cheddar in three parts, mixing until smooth after every addition, then I added the Monterrey jack in three parts, stirring until smooth after every addition, then added the Swiss in three parts, stirring until smooth after every addition. Then I added the pasta. I omitted the smoked flavor and the bread crumb topping and I added seasoning salt and black pepper to the roux before I added the cheese. This was a nice recipe and there is no reason why, if you follow my tips, that you cannot achieve smooth sauce. Remember, adding cold ingredients to a hot sauce when the pan is off the stove is going to yield griddy results. This is just experience over 19 years, I started when I was 8 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I did this without the mustard and smoke flavoring. My husband had complimented 3 times while we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoRo
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was pretty good but just a little bit dry and I even added a lil' extra milk. I'm thinking that maybe using less flour might help. I also added in some crumbled bacon and sliced green onions. If I make this again I think I might change up the cheeses next time and use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was just ok. The flavor of that liquid smoke is very overpowering and not at all what I wanted to taste in my macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was my first attempt at baked macaroni. It was good but not great. I would have liked it better if the sauce had been smoother (it seemed a bit grainy), thinner, and possibly more abundant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was a whole lot of work for a whole lot of blah. I will definietly not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Gannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
THIS WAS AMAZING. (better then my moms!) I made this for my boyfriend and his sister and they definitely agreed with the amazing part. we used a very sharp white cheddar and a salsa jack cheese which gave it a little kick. i would suggest having everything ready before you start cooking so you don't have to run around the kitchen like a chicken with your head cut off like me. mad props :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrwillmer4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My family did not care for the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I like my mac and cheese to be a little bit more creamier. Followed the recipe exactly as mentioned and it came out to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Excellent Macaroni and Cheese! Instead of liquid smoke, I added Bacon Salt, and as other reviewers did, substituted a hearty dollop of sour cream for the cream cheese. I took it to a Super Bowl party and it was gone quickly. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States