Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
this recipe is GREAT! I have tried it using so many different cheeses and it always comes out amazing! I've used habenero pepper infused cheddar cheese or pepper jack when I want a little kick to it. I also put a bit of cayenne pepper it complements the smoke without being too spicy. I love using seriously sharp cheddar because it adds to the smoke. If you don't like liquid smoke try using apple-wood smoked cheddar. It's amazing! thanks for sharing this recipe it's rotating my menu pretty frequently and it's not so expensive to make!!! Gracias!!! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I still must tweek this recipe a bit to my own personal taste, but it has the basics of a GREAT M&C dish! The idea of the cream cheese is genius and makes a real difference in the creaminess of the finished product. FIVE stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very cheese! We left out the liquid smoke thinking it would make it taste odd. After cooking it I can see how the smoke flavor could complement the cheese flavor. This is a good mac and cheese base recipe. You could add different cheeses or even meats to change the flavor. We are making it again this weekend and will be adding rotisserie chicken pieces to it. We are also thinking smoked salmon would also be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is the BEST baked mac and cheese I have ever had/made! Followed the resume for the most part- just didn't have parmesan cheese so I used more mild and sharp cheddar cheese. Also used evaporated milk instead of half and half. Grated asiago cheese on top along with the bread crumbs. Bread crumbs are a MUST. This is SOOO good and exactly how baked mac and cheese should taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this along with meatloaf tonight and it was amazing! I don't know what those 1 star raters are talking about. I did make a change or two. The first change I made was to the roux. I did not add 1/4 cup flour because in my experience with making mac and cheese, too much flour will make it dry no matter how much liquid you use. I instead melted the butter, cooked the onion and garlic then slowly drizzled in the flour and stopped at a certain point. Then after that I let it cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Then I added the milk and half and half and cooked for ten minutes. After that I did the following in order with the pan on low on the stove: I added the cream cheese, stirring until the mixture was smooth, then I added the Parmesan and mixed until smooth, then I added the cheddar in three parts, mixing until smooth after every addition, then I added the Monterrey jack in three parts, stirring until smooth after every addition, then added the Swiss in three parts, stirring until smooth after every addition. Then I added the pasta. I omitted the smoked flavor and the bread crumb topping and I added seasoning salt and black pepper to the roux before I added the cheese. This was a nice recipe and there is no reason why, if you follow my tips, that you cannot achieve smooth sauce. Remember, adding cold ingredients to a hot sauce when the pan is off the stove is going to yield griddy results. This is just experience over 19 years, I started when I was 8 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I did this without the mustard and smoke flavoring. My husband had complimented 3 times while we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoRo
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was pretty good but just a little bit dry and I even added a lil' extra milk. I'm thinking that maybe using less flour might help. I also added in some crumbled bacon and sliced green onions. If I make this again I think I might change up the cheeses next time and use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was just ok. The flavor of that liquid smoke is very overpowering and not at all what I wanted to taste in my macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was my first attempt at baked macaroni. It was good but not great. I would have liked it better if the sauce had been smoother (it seemed a bit grainy), thinner, and possibly more abundant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was a whole lot of work for a whole lot of blah. I will definietly not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States