Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is a very rich, delicious mac & cheese recipe. I served it as a Christmas dinner side dish with roast beef for the carnivores & main dish for the vegs. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cproulx
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I improvised with the cheese - I had a pile of leftover cheese from a part tray and decided to use it instead. I skipped the liquid smoke as I had smoked cheddar in my cheese pile - I think it would have been better with all smoked cheddar, or as the original recipe was written. I also had a lot of leftover cheese - not sure how creamy this was supposed to be but my end product was good and I had about 2 cups of cheese leftover (used it as a fondue) Next time I am going to try adding some cooked ground beef to the casserole as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cproulx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very tasty. I wish it had more zip, so I gave it 4 stars because next time i would probably add red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I bit bland. Added Chili paste, that was a nice pick up or horseradish. I thought it needed more salt and pepper. Added alot of milk to the original mixture..it was very thick. I also added for more crunch to the top..french fried onions. That make the top nice and crunch. Also added a little flavor.`
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My first attempt at making homemade mac & cheese ~ can't thank you enough for this recipe! I made two small changes: doubled the noodles and added chipotle powder (I LOVE that stuff) instead of liquid smoke. Other than that, I followed this recipe to the letter, INCLUDING the times you gave for each step. Initially, as I was stirring in all of the cheeses, I thought, "Holy cow! There's no way we're even going to taste the noodles in this wad of cheese!" WRONG! This is great! It baked up great, was very flavorful, and despite the fact that we could hear our arteries hardening as we ate and then went carbotose for awhile, everyone loved it! Make it! Make it! Make it! Oh, I do agree with Janine's review that you should have all of your ingredients out before you start. =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RhotenCrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My children loved this. I added some bacon the second time that I made it. You could probably even add some broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I won second place with this recipe in my work contest. I looove this mac and cheese I don't use the smoke- it is a true crowd pleaser (the #1 winner was elbow mac and velveeta)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Best mac and cheese I've ever tasted! Before tasting it, I thought I'd never make it again, because it's fairly labor intensive. It's worth it!! My changes: 1 whole 1-lb. box of macaroni, only 1/4 c. onion to please my daughter, didn't have garlic, so I used 1 t. garlic powder, only 1/4 t. liquid smoke, and I ussed mozzarella instead of Swiss. Tastes amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This dish was a real hit at dinner last night. As others recommended, I omitted the flour and was glad I did as it was a bit dry even without it (hence the 4 out of 5 stars)! A very pleasing flavor and texture. I added bacon bits and used panko instead of breadcrumbs. definitely making this again! Eating the leftovers for lunch right now! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
As suggested by others, I added a little more milk for maximum creaminess. I didn't have mustard powder, so I used regular yellow mustard. Deeee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States