Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This dish had excellent flavor. I followed the recipe to a "T", but had to make a change. When I put in the dish to bake, it was pasty...almost dry. I poured about a cup of milk and 1/4 c of half and half into the dish and it saved it. I would make it again, but would definitely add more liquid, possibly double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I loved this recipe ! Very tasty ! I did omit the smoke flavoring for personal reasons BUT it did not affect the wonderful taste. A good mix of cheeses. A keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
The cook, and prep time for this recipe is off. I had the whole thing done in 40 minutes. The texture is great, but the liquid smoke makes it gross. I'll make it again (sans liquid smoke).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
AWESOME!! I actually messed up and added the melted butter to the base and had to melt more butter for the topping so was especially fattening - but still VERY VERY good!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I used Monterey Jack, Provolone, and Cheddar for this recipe. Makes a ton - cut recipe in half before making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This. Is. Awesome! I wanted to sneak some veggies in for my kids, so I cut the macaroni in half and did a 12 oz. package of cauliflower I blanched for a couple minutes. I also sauteed a couple large handfuls of matchstick carrots in with the onion and garlic. My kids aren't big on cream cheese in their macaroni, so I used 1/2 c. of sour cream, which was a nice touch, and I also added a little Frank's. Everything else I kept the same. Very, very good. You couldn't tell that there was cauliflower or carrots in it. My kids and husband inhaled it and asked for more. I will suggest that if you make this, you might want to half it unless you have a big family. This fills a large 9x13 baking dish! TIP: If you chop the cauliflower in small pieces, it unnoticable when you add it to macaroni dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I just finished making and eating this for the first time and am glad I did. I used rigatoni instead of macaroni and increased the milk to 2 cups (and still a little dry, though better dry than soupy in my book).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Easy and tasty mac n cheese. I followed the recipe as written, but used penne b/c I did not have elbow macaroni. I loved the idea of using liquid smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was a big hit. I will add more milk next time. It turned out pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Good, but i suggest switching the chedder with the swiss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States