Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great classic and basic. I used this as a guide and then used what I had on hand and then some. It was yummy! My son thought it was great and went back for more. I only had 6 ounces of macaroni, so halved the recipe though I was very loose with the measurements and put in more than called for cheese I think. I used more than called for yellow onion plus half a large shallot, and bottled minced garlic. I also added matchsticked baby rainbow carrots and minced red bell pepper to the onion and garlic. I doubt that I stirred the flour or cheeses mixture (parm per recipe, assiago, extra sharp cheddar (more than recipe), and mozzerella) as called for, and I used fat free plain Greek yogurt instead of the cream chese. I added lots of leftover ham, cubed/chopped. I used lots of fresh cracked black and white pepper, but I didn't have liquid smoke and didn't miss it. I'll make this again, and think for my family of three, that a half recipe is plenty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Loved it! It came out so tasty & was easy to prepare. For my topping I also sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese with the bread crumbs to give it more of an orange-yellow color .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kanece Trim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Loved it. I did not have enough monterey so I used gouda. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Made it for a picnic we had and it was a HUGE hit! Best Mac & Cheese ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was a great recipe and was devoured by my family. The liquid smoke was a great addition! I did have to add additional half and half and milk to the cheese mixture as it was really thick, but other than that, this recipe's wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
my 7 year old did not like this, I thought it was okay, and my hubby liked it. Not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I usually follow the recipe the first time and made it for a church function. I found there was WAY too much cheese - could have probably been halved - and not enough liquid and could not taste the smoke flavor. I had to add extra liquid just to stir in with the macaroni. I have a huge wooden spoon and found it very difficult to stir so added more half & half. I checked twice on the amount of cheese I had actually used and it was correct to the recipe. Doubt very much if I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very good and easy to make, too. Forgot to put the cream cheese in but was still very tasty. We didn't use liquid smoke as we're not fans of smoked food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because I thought it was too time-consuming and I had to adjust the ingredients in the end to get it into the baking pan. I didn't have time to read reviews beforehand for insight, so I made it as directed. By the time I got all the cheeses in, the consistency was very gummy and almost impossible to stir in the pasta. I added more milk until the consistency was right. The end result was delicious--my kids loved it. The aroma while baking and out of the oven was so good. There are so many mac and cheese recipes to try, I don't know if I'll make this again for a while, but it is a delicious twist to the traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Followed the directions to the T. The only thing I added was some bacon. WOW. Excellent recipe, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmdoyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States