Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Some wise advice when making this recipe would be to make sure you have all your ingredients out and all your cheeses shredded before beginning,because you need to stir the flour mixture continuously. This recipe does not take long to prepare, and the sauce is very rich, with all the cheeses. Also, the liquid smoke is a necessary ingredient for the smokey flavor this recipe is intending to deliver. Although I feel this is a delightful tasting dish, I enjoy traditional mac & cheese a bit better. Sometimes a shot of liquid smoke to regular mac & cheese lends a great flavor. But I enjoyed the experience of trying the different cheeses in this recipe, such as the swiss, which I had never used in a mac & cheese recipe. All said and done, I would make this again for a change of pace. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This. Is. Awesome! I wanted to sneak some veggies in for my kids, so I cut the macaroni in half and did a 12 oz. package of cauliflower I blanched for a couple minutes. I also sauteed a couple large handfuls of matchstick carrots in with the onion and garlic. My kids aren't big on cream cheese in their macaroni, so I used 1/2 c. of sour cream, which was a nice touch, and I also added a little Frank's. Everything else I kept the same. Very, very good. You couldn't tell that there was cauliflower or carrots in it. My kids and husband inhaled it and asked for more. I will suggest that if you make this, you might want to half it unless you have a big family. This fills a large 9x13 baking dish! TIP: If you chop the cauliflower in small pieces, it unnoticable when you add it to macaroni dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
WOW, this was really good, I used provolone in place of the swiss, because I really dont like swiss. I bet gruyer would be nice, anywhoo, I did not use the liquid smoke, but i did use roasted garlic instead to give it a deeper flavor, omg, with the breadcrumbs and parm on top, to die for!thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a wonderful mac and cheese recipe! I followed it exactly, w/one exception...i did not use the liquid smoke simply bc I did not have any. It was still delicious...it reminded me of my mom's homemade recipe...i will definitely make again...also easy for a beginner cook, and great for picky eaters like my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haro07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hobbs
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I try a lot of mac & cheese recipes and really enjoyed this one. I've never used cream cheese before, but it really gives the sauce a smooth creamy texture. To enhance the smokiness I added 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika and crumbled bacon. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This Mac and Cheese is the BEST!!!!!!! I usually make changes to all my recipes but there was no need for this one! This is PERFECTION! Thanks for such an amazing recipe! Will be using this tasty dish for all occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weinmuller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This recipe was only ok for me, but my husband loved it so it got 4 stars. I really liked the addition of the liquid smoke. The texture left a little to be desired for me, a little too thick. Worth a shot if you are looking for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this along with meatloaf tonight and it was amazing! I don't know what those 1 star raters are talking about. I did make a change or two. The first change I made was to the roux. I did not add 1/4 cup flour because in my experience with making mac and cheese, too much flour will make it dry no matter how much liquid you use. I instead melted the butter, cooked the onion and garlic then slowly drizzled in the flour and stopped at a certain point. Then after that I let it cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Then I added the milk and half and half and cooked for ten minutes. After that I did the following in order with the pan on low on the stove: I added the cream cheese, stirring until the mixture was smooth, then I added the Parmesan and mixed until smooth, then I added the cheddar in three parts, mixing until smooth after every addition, then I added the Monterrey jack in three parts, stirring until smooth after every addition, then added the Swiss in three parts, stirring until smooth after every addition. Then I added the pasta. I omitted the smoked flavor and the bread crumb topping and I added seasoning salt and black pepper to the roux before I added the cheese. This was a nice recipe and there is no reason why, if you follow my tips, that you cannot achieve smooth sauce. Remember, adding cold ingredients to a hot sauce when the pan is off the stove is going to yield griddy results. This is just experience over 19 years, I started when I was 8 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passionate_About_Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was SOOO good!!! I followed the recipe pretty much except that I didn't have Swiss, so I used a "fiesta" mix of shredded cheese (Monterey Jack, Asiago, etc.), and I didn't top it with breadcrumbs. I've never had mac and cheese with liquid smoke, but it was absolutely delicious, and I love the flavor it added. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athena1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was great...I hosted a dinner for 8 people and EVERYONE loved it! I didn't use the onion or the cream cheese (personal preference), and instead of swiss used shredded mozzerella. Love this, will stay a keeper for this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States