Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
WOW, this was really good, I used provolone in place of the swiss, because I really dont like swiss. I bet gruyer would be nice, anywhoo, I did not use the liquid smoke, but i did use roasted garlic instead to give it a deeper flavor, omg, with the breadcrumbs and parm on top, to die for!thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a wonderful mac and cheese recipe! I followed it exactly, w/one exception...i did not use the liquid smoke simply bc I did not have any. It was still delicious...it reminded me of my mom's homemade recipe...i will definitely make again...also easy for a beginner cook, and great for picky eaters like my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haro07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hobbs
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I try a lot of mac & cheese recipes and really enjoyed this one. I've never used cream cheese before, but it really gives the sauce a smooth creamy texture. To enhance the smokiness I added 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika and crumbled bacon. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
We were impressed. We used long macaroni noodles (made serving a bit more tricky), a little less cream cheese (ran out), and skipped both the swiss and parm on top (seemed cheesy enough). The onions and liquid smoke were great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Some wise advice when making this recipe would be to make sure you have all your ingredients out and all your cheeses shredded before beginning,because you need to stir the flour mixture continuously. This recipe does not take long to prepare, and the sauce is very rich, with all the cheeses. Also, the liquid smoke is a necessary ingredient for the smokey flavor this recipe is intending to deliver. Although I feel this is a delightful tasting dish, I enjoy traditional mac & cheese a bit better. Sometimes a shot of liquid smoke to regular mac & cheese lends a great flavor. But I enjoyed the experience of trying the different cheeses in this recipe, such as the swiss, which I had never used in a mac & cheese recipe. All said and done, I would make this again for a change of pace. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This recipe was only ok for me, but my husband loved it so it got 4 stars. I really liked the addition of the liquid smoke. The texture left a little to be desired for me, a little too thick. Worth a shot if you are looking for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I followed this recipe. It came out WAY to dry and I had to add ALOT more milk. The flavor was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I love this recipe! I didn't use the smoke flavoring though, instead I bought smoked sharp cheddar cheese and it was GREAT! Kids loved it and so did the hubby. I am going to make this mac & cheese for our 4th of july party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was SOOO good!!! I followed the recipe pretty much except that I didn't have Swiss, so I used a "fiesta" mix of shredded cheese (Monterey Jack, Asiago, etc.), and I didn't top it with breadcrumbs. I've never had mac and cheese with liquid smoke, but it was absolutely delicious, and I love the flavor it added. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athena1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Pure comfort food! I made this for a side dish to BBQ chicken last night. Instead of using liquid smoke though, I diced up a chunk of double smoked hardwood bacon and sauteed it with the onions and garlic. OMG!!! I too needed to add a bit more milk because it was so thick. Awesome "adult" mac & chz! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States