Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Oh my gosh! This was the best thing I have ever made. Even my mom said it was one of the best overall dishes that she had ever had. period. haha. I left out the onion and liquid smoke because I didn't have any. I am planning on making it for my class and I was wondering if anyone had tried freezing it like the night before before you baked it and then baking it the next day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this recipe three times, one exactly as is, one without the optional liquid smoke, and one with the additions to make it a little more creamy: 1 tsp dijon mustard, no liquid smoke, 3/4 cup half and half in place of the 1/2 cup. It was a great recipe all three ways, but I prefer it without the liquid smoke and my only complaint was that it was a bit dry so with the additions it came out with a creamier sauce and was more what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I didn't use the dry mustard or the smoke flavoring and still thought it was the best Baked Macaroni and cheese that I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great recipe. A little time consuming for mac n cheese, but worth it. I used smoked gouda instead of Swiss and Colby Jack instead of Monterey. I imagine Manchester cheese would be good somewhere in there, too. Do add the liquid smoke when you make this. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My family and guest loved this!!! I am in the process of making it again for or New Year Eve gathering. My only input would be to add more cream. I added additional cream to make the sauce creamier and so that I could stir the sauce. I think I added an additional cup of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very dry (even after I added 3 times as much cream!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
The recipe did not call for sour cream. It definatelty did not require the 8 oz's I used. Had it not been for my mistake I believe this would have been perfect. The inital taste of the cheese was great. The after taste of sour cream was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
It was awesome, and I forgot to put the cream cheese in! Definitely a winner. The liquid smoke adds a richness that cannot be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great flavor, but this was waaaay too rich for me. I prefer a creamy mac 'n' cheese, but this was very thick and goopy, even after adding extra milk. I subbed smoked Gouda for liquid smoke and Jack, and I topped with french-fried onions instead of Parm and bread crumbs. If I made this again, I'd halve the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Made it last weekend. Took the advice of the many who said add at least one more cup of water. Had no liquid smoke so I used one third cup smoked sharp cheddar. It came out perfect. It does make a lot so lots of leftovers. Zap a serving size in the microwave for about 30 seconds and it comes out great! I also took the advice of a previous poster and all ingredients measured and ready to go. It happens fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States