Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I didn't use the dry mustard or the smoke flavoring and still thought it was the best Baked Macaroni and cheese that I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great recipe. A little time consuming for mac n cheese, but worth it. I used smoked gouda instead of Swiss and Colby Jack instead of Monterey. I imagine Manchester cheese would be good somewhere in there, too. Do add the liquid smoke when you make this. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My family and guest loved this!!! I am in the process of making it again for or New Year Eve gathering. My only input would be to add more cream. I added additional cream to make the sauce creamier and so that I could stir the sauce. I think I added an additional cup of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very dry (even after I added 3 times as much cream!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
The recipe did not call for sour cream. It definatelty did not require the 8 oz's I used. Had it not been for my mistake I believe this would have been perfect. The inital taste of the cheese was great. The after taste of sour cream was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
It was awesome, and I forgot to put the cream cheese in! Definitely a winner. The liquid smoke adds a richness that cannot be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great flavor, but this was waaaay too rich for me. I prefer a creamy mac 'n' cheese, but this was very thick and goopy, even after adding extra milk. I subbed smoked Gouda for liquid smoke and Jack, and I topped with french-fried onions instead of Parm and bread crumbs. If I made this again, I'd halve the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Made it last weekend. Took the advice of the many who said add at least one more cup of water. Had no liquid smoke so I used one third cup smoked sharp cheddar. It came out perfect. It does make a lot so lots of leftovers. Zap a serving size in the microwave for about 30 seconds and it comes out great! I also took the advice of a previous poster and all ingredients measured and ready to go. It happens fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very good! I left out the liquid smoke (didn't have any) and added 1 cup each chopped ham and frozen peas to make it a meal. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I was afraid it was going to be too thick and dry when I saw how thick the bechemel was and how goopy it became when I added all the cheese. But once it baked off, it was creamy and delicious. Also, I used freshly grated Parmesan, not the Kraft powder stuff. I will continue to use fresh-grated in the sauce, but I think in the future I'll use the powder with the bread crumbs for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was great...I hosted a dinner for 8 people and EVERYONE loved it! I didn't use the onion or the cream cheese (personal preference), and instead of swiss used shredded mozzerella. Love this, will stay a keeper for this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States