Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by RoRo
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was pretty good but just a little bit dry and I even added a lil' extra milk. I'm thinking that maybe using less flour might help. I also added in some crumbled bacon and sliced green onions. If I make this again I think I might change up the cheeses next time and use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was just ok. The flavor of that liquid smoke is very overpowering and not at all what I wanted to taste in my macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was my first attempt at baked macaroni. It was good but not great. I would have liked it better if the sauce had been smoother (it seemed a bit grainy), thinner, and possibly more abundant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was a whole lot of work for a whole lot of blah. I will definietly not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Gannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
THIS WAS AMAZING. (better then my moms!) I made this for my boyfriend and his sister and they definitely agreed with the amazing part. we used a very sharp white cheddar and a salsa jack cheese which gave it a little kick. i would suggest having everything ready before you start cooking so you don't have to run around the kitchen like a chicken with your head cut off like me. mad props :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrwillmer4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My family did not care for the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I like my mac and cheese to be a little bit more creamier. Followed the recipe exactly as mentioned and it came out to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Excellent Macaroni and Cheese! Instead of liquid smoke, I added Bacon Salt, and as other reviewers did, substituted a hearty dollop of sour cream for the cream cheese. I took it to a Super Bowl party and it was gone quickly. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
To many cheeses and messy to make. High in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was OK. Like other reviewers stated, it seemed really dry as I was making the sauce, so I added another cup of milk and another half cup of half and half. Also added paprika to the sauce and a little dried parsley in with the breadcrumbs. I also roasted my garlic before adding. All said and done it was a little bland, though. Pretty rich but bland. The smokiness didn't come out as much as I expected, but this might be because of the extra milk I added. I don't think I'll make it again, but if I was going to I would butter the bread crumbs first, use about half the flour the recipe called for and maybe change the cheeses around a bit. I like Swiss, but I think it overpowered the other cheeses in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States