Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
The cook, and prep time for this recipe is off. I had the whole thing done in 40 minutes. The texture is great, but the liquid smoke makes it gross. I'll make it again (sans liquid smoke).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
AWESOME!! I actually messed up and added the melted butter to the base and had to melt more butter for the topping so was especially fattening - but still VERY VERY good!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I used Monterey Jack, Provolone, and Cheddar for this recipe. Makes a ton - cut recipe in half before making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This. Is. Awesome! I wanted to sneak some veggies in for my kids, so I cut the macaroni in half and did a 12 oz. package of cauliflower I blanched for a couple minutes. I also sauteed a couple large handfuls of matchstick carrots in with the onion and garlic. My kids aren't big on cream cheese in their macaroni, so I used 1/2 c. of sour cream, which was a nice touch, and I also added a little Frank's. Everything else I kept the same. Very, very good. You couldn't tell that there was cauliflower or carrots in it. My kids and husband inhaled it and asked for more. I will suggest that if you make this, you might want to half it unless you have a big family. This fills a large 9x13 baking dish! TIP: If you chop the cauliflower in small pieces, it unnoticable when you add it to macaroni dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I just finished making and eating this for the first time and am glad I did. I used rigatoni instead of macaroni and increased the milk to 2 cups (and still a little dry, though better dry than soupy in my book).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Easy and tasty mac n cheese. I followed the recipe as written, but used penne b/c I did not have elbow macaroni. I loved the idea of using liquid smoke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was a big hit. I will add more milk next time. It turned out pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Good, but i suggest switching the chedder with the swiss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Pure comfort food! I made this for a side dish to BBQ chicken last night. Instead of using liquid smoke though, I diced up a chunk of double smoked hardwood bacon and sauteed it with the onions and garlic. OMG!!! I too needed to add a bit more milk because it was so thick. Awesome "adult" mac & chz! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was SOOO good!!! I followed the recipe pretty much except that I didn't have Swiss, so I used a "fiesta" mix of shredded cheese (Monterey Jack, Asiago, etc.), and I didn't top it with breadcrumbs. I've never had mac and cheese with liquid smoke, but it was absolutely delicious, and I love the flavor it added. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athena1970

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States