Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was so good. I've been trying to put together a great mac and cheese for years and this is it! THANK YOU! To the person who submitted this recipe. This is nothing like ma used to make and yes my goal it to have a better mac & cheese. So here are my tips. (I left out the breadcrumbs) 1.Follow the recipe step by step. I misread a step before my computer battery went dead and ended up adding the flour tablespoon after tablespoon after I'd added the liquid already. At the end of the day it was way thick and I added much more liquid than the recipe called for. I was afraid that it would be too much sauce for the noodles, but it turned out to be perfect. 2.I personally live an apartment and have a wacky oven. This thing gets hot fast, so I cooked the mac and cheese with foil over the top, then the last 10 minutes took the foil off so that I could achieve that dreamy brown top instead of a jagged hard one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The recipe is amazing! I am always making it for my family. Leftovers are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My daughter's exact response to eating this was...Rolling her eyes back into her head and then saying "OH MY GOD!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was excellent; however, I must say I do not understand why Liquid Smoke is considered optional for "smoky" macaroni and cheese- without it, the dish is simply plain old mac 'n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This dish had excellent flavor. I followed the recipe to a "T", but had to make a change. When I put in the dish to bake, it was pasty...almost dry. I poured about a cup of milk and 1/4 c of half and half into the dish and it saved it. I would make it again, but would definitely add more liquid, possibly double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I loved this recipe ! Very tasty ! I did omit the smoke flavoring for personal reasons BUT it did not affect the wonderful taste. A good mix of cheeses. A keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
The cook, and prep time for this recipe is off. I had the whole thing done in 40 minutes. The texture is great, but the liquid smoke makes it gross. I'll make it again (sans liquid smoke).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
AWESOME!! I actually messed up and added the melted butter to the base and had to melt more butter for the topping so was especially fattening - but still VERY VERY good!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I used Monterey Jack, Provolone, and Cheddar for this recipe. Makes a ton - cut recipe in half before making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This. Is. Awesome! I wanted to sneak some veggies in for my kids, so I cut the macaroni in half and did a 12 oz. package of cauliflower I blanched for a couple minutes. I also sauteed a couple large handfuls of matchstick carrots in with the onion and garlic. My kids aren't big on cream cheese in their macaroni, so I used 1/2 c. of sour cream, which was a nice touch, and I also added a little Frank's. Everything else I kept the same. Very, very good. You couldn't tell that there was cauliflower or carrots in it. My kids and husband inhaled it and asked for more. I will suggest that if you make this, you might want to half it unless you have a big family. This fills a large 9x13 baking dish! TIP: If you chop the cauliflower in small pieces, it unnoticable when you add it to macaroni dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States