Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very dry (even after I added 3 times as much cream!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
The recipe did not call for sour cream. It definatelty did not require the 8 oz's I used. Had it not been for my mistake I believe this would have been perfect. The inital taste of the cheese was great. The after taste of sour cream was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
It was awesome, and I forgot to put the cream cheese in! Definitely a winner. The liquid smoke adds a richness that cannot be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great flavor, but this was waaaay too rich for me. I prefer a creamy mac 'n' cheese, but this was very thick and goopy, even after adding extra milk. I subbed smoked Gouda for liquid smoke and Jack, and I topped with french-fried onions instead of Parm and bread crumbs. If I made this again, I'd halve the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Made it last weekend. Took the advice of the many who said add at least one more cup of water. Had no liquid smoke so I used one third cup smoked sharp cheddar. It came out perfect. It does make a lot so lots of leftovers. Zap a serving size in the microwave for about 30 seconds and it comes out great! I also took the advice of a previous poster and all ingredients measured and ready to go. It happens fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Very good! I left out the liquid smoke (didn't have any) and added 1 cup each chopped ham and frozen peas to make it a meal. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I was afraid it was going to be too thick and dry when I saw how thick the bechemel was and how goopy it became when I added all the cheese. But once it baked off, it was creamy and delicious. Also, I used freshly grated Parmesan, not the Kraft powder stuff. I will continue to use fresh-grated in the sauce, but I think in the future I'll use the powder with the bread crumbs for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was great...I hosted a dinner for 8 people and EVERYONE loved it! I didn't use the onion or the cream cheese (personal preference), and instead of swiss used shredded mozzerella. Love this, will stay a keeper for this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was really good...I picked it because it called for cream cheese, which I thought would help get rid of that strange "grainy" texture melted cheese sometimes gets. It worked and the recipe was yummy. I didnt have liquid smoke unfortunatley but maybe next time I will add someother type of smoky meat (bacon, sausage, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Made without the liquid smoke and tried to multiply by 4/3 to use the entire box of macaroni. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
It's incredible! I did, like most others, add a lot more milk, and I didn't have onions, so I just added a little onion powder. I used swiss,mild cheddar, and an italian mixture along w/ a mexican mixture. I had a lot of different cheeses stored in my freezer! I'm anxious to see how my kids like it since they usually only like the boxed kind! Also, I used panko breadcrumbs and broiled for a couple of minutes @ the end to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States