Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was super-excited to try this - I made it for a shower and was expecting rave reviews. I thought it was just OK, though - certainly not what I expected for that large number of ingredients. Of all the dishes I made for the shower (there were 6), this was the only one I did not receive requests for the recipe. There was a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I was looking for a mac and cheese recipe that didn't call for a processed cheese as the main ingredient (like Velveta) and came across this one. Very good, however, I would skip the flour step. This recipe is basically how I make alfredo sauce, just with different cheeses. And I have never used flour or any thickener. If it's too thin, add more cheese! I also suggest using a whisk when adding the milk/half & half. I've found that when you heat the butter and milk together (in any cheese sauce), whisking for a good minute or two before adding anything else will help it from separating later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
this was so yummy! It even tated great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Um... nope. Made this for dinner tonight. It is chilly here in Chicago (I think fall is setting in early!). A comforting meal seemed to be the ticke. And what better food to serve than creamy baked macaroni and cheese (not to mention this recipe has been on my "to try" list for quite a while)! To my disappointment, this was BLAND and had a very unappealing, pasty texture. I had to add an additional cup of liquid (1/2 c. half-half and 1/2 c. milk) to achieve a consistency other than cement (and my sauce was still terribly thick, regardless). My other gripe is that there is WAAAAY too much topping. It should be substantial enough to cover your pasta, but not so much so that it creates a thick, powdery layer on top. Both the Parm cheese and breadcrums need to be tossed with melted butter and then sprinkled over all. I've never seen a recipe that didn't include the addition of melted butter, but left all common sense out the window and am sad I did. I pretty much followed Eshel's directions to the letter except for subbing mini penne pasta for macaroni (at the last minute, I realized I was out) and Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs for plain ones. Other than these two changes and the addition of liquid, I followed this recipe exactly. Sorry, Eschel, my fiance and I agree that this is not worth a repeat. We didn't even save the leftovers. What a waste (sigh...). Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Made this for a potluck and it was a hit, easily serving 11 people with leftovers for my husband's lunch the next day. Even though I increased milk and 1/2 & 1/2 to nearly 3 cups total liquid, it still was dryer than expected. I added chopped ham, substituted Dijon for dry mustard (just gave it a big squirt) and increased cheddar as I don't care for swiss. I might make this again if I get a request for it, otherwise I'll try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
i also dont care for swiss so i substituted extra sharp cheddar. and added ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is everything mac and cheese should be. It has all the best ingredients. My only suggestion is to use 1 tbsp dijon mustard instead of the dry mustard powder, it give a stronger flavor, and also add some smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My family loved this. Wasnt too sure about the liquid smoke but it gave just the lightest smokey flavor. Next time I will decrease the amount of onion I add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Linden, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe and will not disappoint but I'm looking for something a bit more rich in flavor. Next time I will play around with different cheeses and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States