Smoky Four Cheese Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because I thought it was too time-consuming and I had to adjust the ingredients in the end to get it into the baking pan. I didn't have time to read reviews beforehand for insight, so I made it as directed. By the time I got all the cheeses in, the consistency was very gummy and almost impossible to stir in the pasta. I added more milk until the consistency was right. The end result was delicious--my kids loved it. The aroma while baking and out of the oven was so good. There are so many mac and cheese recipes to try, I don't know if I'll make this again for a while, but it is a delicious twist to the traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Followed the directions to the T. The only thing I added was some bacon. WOW. Excellent recipe, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmdoyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this last night, didn't have Parmesan so I substituted Swiss, also didn't have liquid smoke so I used some McCormick BBQ seasoning. I did use some more milk during the rue process, maybe a cup. It turned out great! Probably the best I have ever made and I've made some darn good Mac n cheese. I also added some cayenne for just the right amount of kick. I think the ones that are saying it's too dry don't realize they are dumping a whole box of noodles and the boxes are usually 16ounces not the 12 recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This would have been great except the onion and garlic flavor was much too strong. I made it for my boyfriend and one other friend, and they both agreed. The smokey flavor was nice, but if i make it again I will add MUCH less onion and garlic (if any at all). It was also kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is a very rich, delicious mac & cheese recipe. I served it as a Christmas dinner side dish with roast beef for the carnivores & main dish for the vegs. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cproulx
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I improvised with the cheese - I had a pile of leftover cheese from a part tray and decided to use it instead. I skipped the liquid smoke as I had smoked cheddar in my cheese pile - I think it would have been better with all smoked cheddar, or as the original recipe was written. I also had a lot of leftover cheese - not sure how creamy this was supposed to be but my end product was good and I had about 2 cups of cheese leftover (used it as a fondue) Next time I am going to try adding some cooked ground beef to the casserole as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cproulx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very tasty. I wish it had more zip, so I gave it 4 stars because next time i would probably add red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I bit bland. Added Chili paste, that was a nice pick up or horseradish. I thought it needed more salt and pepper. Added alot of milk to the original mixture..it was very thick. I also added for more crunch to the top..french fried onions. That make the top nice and crunch. Also added a little flavor.`
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My first attempt at making homemade mac & cheese ~ can't thank you enough for this recipe! I made two small changes: doubled the noodles and added chipotle powder (I LOVE that stuff) instead of liquid smoke. Other than that, I followed this recipe to the letter, INCLUDING the times you gave for each step. Initially, as I was stirring in all of the cheeses, I thought, "Holy cow! There's no way we're even going to taste the noodles in this wad of cheese!" WRONG! This is great! It baked up great, was very flavorful, and despite the fact that we could hear our arteries hardening as we ate and then went carbotose for awhile, everyone loved it! Make it! Make it! Make it! Oh, I do agree with Janine's review that you should have all of your ingredients out before you start. =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RhotenCrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My children loved this. I added some bacon the second time that I made it. You could probably even add some broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States