Smoky Cod and Parsnip Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This recipe was very good, my boyfriend who is a native new englander loved it! We both thought it did not thicken enough, but it could very well be my cooking error. I would love it to have a bit of a spicy kick, but I have to remember I am in new england now, and spicy is not a new england trait. Great recipe I will definitely try it again perhaps with a bit of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was a great recipe. It was very tasty and I will definitely make it again. One thing. I didn't have any parsnips, so I substituted with carrots. It turned out just fine though. My husband ate four bowls:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup. I didn't have any smoked cod but i added andoullie sausage which gave an excellent spicy, smokey flavor. My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Used 2 salmon patties instead of smoked cod. Added some leek for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
The cowder is really great but I think the cod is a bit bland. Maybe getting all smoked cod could work, or marinate it in something. In all, good recipe, but something more needs to be done with the cod!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was really fishy and a little bland for my taste otherwise. My husband liked it pretty well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Since I stick with 5 star recipes from Allrecipes, there are very few that I find that I don't care for. This is one of them... It may have been that although I love parsnips, I didn't care for them as the focus of this dish. Loved the cod, the broth and the lemon combination. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is a delicous soup, but I had to do some adapting. I couldn't find any smoked cod so I used some smoked trout as well as 1# of fresh trout. I also had to use dried thyme. I used 1# of potatoes. They were organic fingerlings so I didn't peel them. I didn't bother to precook the fish and just used chicken broth to cook the vegetables. Then I added the fish and cream and simmered until the cream was hot and the fish was cooked. Definitley use the fresh chives if you have them available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I've tried a few smoked fish chowder recipes, but this is the one I keep coming back to. The parsnip is an interesting change from the usual potato. A winter family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Fantastic. Never quite enough liquid, though - we add water to make it a bit more "soup-ey".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States