Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I used fresh garbanzo beans for this recipe. Half of a one pound bag is roughly equivalent to the 2 15.5 ounce cans it asks for! Either way, the recipe is hard to mess up, and most of the ingredients can be altered to personal preference. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This dip is amazing! I omitted the bell peppers and cumin (personal preference), and doubled the tomatoes and cilantro. Used lime instead of lemon, and oil from the tomatoes instead of plain olive oil. Had to put this in the fridge before I ate too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I am so glad I found this hummus recipe!!! I usually buy the tiny containers from a local grocery store and a favorite restaurant so I was happy to give this a try. I have to say that this a fantastic recipe as I love roasted red pepper hummus!!!! My husband who has never eaten hummus is now sold on it. I will no longer purchase those tiny containers. And for those of you wondering if you need tahini, I absolutely think you do. It adds that nutty hummus flavor that I like. Yeah it's expensive, but you can make several batches from a 15 oz. can using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
The flavor was pretty good, but the consistency was much too watery. If I make this again I would add more garlic and a lot less water (maybe substitute some other liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Bravo Bravo Bravo!!! This was the best hummus I have ever had! I've made a couple of hummus recipes off this site, and my boyfriend and I both agree that this is the BEST ONE! I wish I had made this earlier but was put off by the amount of ingredients in the dish but this is AWESOME. I was out of lemon juice so I used lime juice. Also I used one can of the beans but put in the whole pepper and about an extra teaspoon of the adobo sauce in. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is, by far, the best hummus I've ever had. It has a beautiful color to it, and the spices all compliment each other very well. I brought this to a potluck and it was nearly gone by the end. Even people who hate hummus liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duplerj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
my first time making hummus and by far the best iv'e ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wiggity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
this is fantastic. I double the chipotle, and used 2 peppers. better than any store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I strongly dislike hummus and garbanzo beans, but this was fabulous. I made some using a dry hummus mix for a base, and it was wonderful. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Used a small amount of sesame oil instead of tahini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Klein-McKnuckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States