Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this for lunch this week to go with celery and carrots and it turned out fabulous. Perfect amount of kick. Pay attention to chipotle pepper part - it's one pepper from the can, not the entire can itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Good, but very hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was a great recipe! We eat quite a bit of hummus at my house, which is kind of pricey, but aside from that, the flavors get repetitive, so I decided to venture out and make a few different flavors myself. One thing I don't like about hummus from the store is that it can get pretty calorie and fat dense, so in making this one, I actually eliminated the oil and the tahini to make it almost fat-free. I also left out the sun-dried tomatoes (I just forgot to write them on my grocery list). I actually used 3 chipotle peppers (I like things quite spicy), and some extra cilantro as well. The consistency was not quite as thick as most traditional hummus, but the flavor is so much better it is well worth the trade off. I also love the fact that with my modifications, I am eating something so much lower in fat and calories plus less expensive. A fun and different twist. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is awesome! I have made it several times and it never fails to make me smile. Today I was out of chipotle so I used Chipotle Cholula sauce. I started with 1 Tablespooon. It is a great sauce but mild compared to a canned chipotle. I added more for my taste but it made a worthy substitute although it is far better with the real thing. Love it with vegies. Also, the sun dried tomatoes in oil can be expensive so I heated up some olive oil and added sundried tomatoes I found in bulk foods then let it sit for a couple days . Worked fine. I have also used just the dried tomatoes without soaking in oil, just chopped them up a bit first. The roasted red peppers can be done in your oven. Just use 2 small or 1 and 1/2 of med size peppers. Char under the broiler and skin before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
One of the best Hummus recipes around! The only adjustment was I increased the chipolte peppers to 2 and poured some of the "sauce" from the can into the chickpeas and added about 1/2 tblspoon of sea salt. So much can be done with this - will try adding garlic next time. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Super good! While we’re not hummus connoisseurs, this one is far better than those we’ve had before. Much better than store bought versions sold at WF. A minor point of confusion was with “6 oil-packed sun dried tomatoes”; not sure how to interpret a quantity of 6 as store bought not packaged this way. Deviated by going w/ California Sun-Dry Fat Free Smoked Sun Dried Tomatoes (used 3/4 of 3 oz. pack), and this worked out well. Thanks SAVVYHOSTESS for sharing & we’ll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used the recipe as a base and it turned out great. I halved the recipe, used 3 garlic gloves, 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp of cumin and a ton of sun dried tomatoes, 2 chipotle peppers and a few drops of siracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Nice flavor and really easy to make. I did use the juice in the cans of beans in lieu of water and added a bit more Adobo sauce and chipotle peppers since I like extra spice. Great dip with carrot sticks and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is so easy to make, and very economical! The only change I made was a little less lemon juice, for my own taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is my go-to savory dip recipe; I'm so glad I found it! It's great for parties, snacking, and as a sandwich spread. For those who do not have a full-size food processor, you can chop/puree the roasted red peppers, chipotles, sundried tomatoes, cumin, cilantro, and black pepper in a small food processor and mix it all into a party size tub of prepared hummus. Make sure to include some of the adobo sauce out of the can of chipotles for extra smoky flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States