Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is absolutely fantastic, so much flavor and extremely easy to make. Great for a snack or appetizer. I will be bringing this recipe to family and friend gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious! Tahini was not available when I first made this recipe so I toasted 1/2 c. sesame seeds on the stove top until very fragrant then added to garbanzo beans. (Just be sure to thoroughly pruee this mixture before adding remaining ingredients) Per other posters I use the bean juice instead of water and removed the skins. Omitted the tomatoes, and substituted Italian parsley for the cilantro. I use the remaining garlic and spices as written and think the heat and flavor are spot on. Have had many compliments on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
The trick to creamy hummus is shelling each garbanzo bean. It's a little tedious, but soooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Yum! I really enjoyed this. My husband was looking for more of a chipotle smokiness, though. I actually added one and a half chiles, but next time I will probably add the full two or three. I have never made hummus before but we eat it all the time in our house. This made a huge batch! We will definitely save some money with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yum-O! This was super delicious!!! My hubs and I were invited to celebrate New Years Eve with our neighbors. All we needed to bring was ourselves and an appetizer. :) I tinkered with the idea of preparing a hot dish, but didn't know if there would be any way to keep it warm on the buffet. Of all the cold appetizer ideas in my recipe box, this one seemed most interesting to me. I am SOOOO glad I gave this a try! This was simply fantastic, healthy and made a TON! The only downside is that it is a tad expensive to prepare. I pretty much followed SAAVY's directions to the letter except for a couple of minor changes. First, I used most of my roasted pepper juice in lieu of water (I only needed to add a little bit of water to measure 1/2 c.). Second, I added 1/2 T of chipotle sauce and an extra (small) pepper to my hummus (I could barely detect any heat as is). NOTE: Although not necessary, removing the hull from your garbanzo beans will ensure a creamy hummus texture. As M2MIN's review explains, simply rinse your beans, then add them to a large pot of water. Gently rub all of the beans to loosen the hull / skin. The hulls will float to the top of the pot and all you'll need to do is scoop them out, drain and proceed with the recipe. Served with cucumber slices, carrot nibblers and pita chips. To my surprise, out of the three "dunkers," I like the cucumber the best! Thanks for sharing, SAAVYHOSTESS! My neighbors now want your recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this for lunch this week to go with celery and carrots and it turned out fabulous. Perfect amount of kick. Pay attention to chipotle pepper part - it's one pepper from the can, not the entire can itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Good, but very hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was a great recipe! We eat quite a bit of hummus at my house, which is kind of pricey, but aside from that, the flavors get repetitive, so I decided to venture out and make a few different flavors myself. One thing I don't like about hummus from the store is that it can get pretty calorie and fat dense, so in making this one, I actually eliminated the oil and the tahini to make it almost fat-free. I also left out the sun-dried tomatoes (I just forgot to write them on my grocery list). I actually used 3 chipotle peppers (I like things quite spicy), and some extra cilantro as well. The consistency was not quite as thick as most traditional hummus, but the flavor is so much better it is well worth the trade off. I also love the fact that with my modifications, I am eating something so much lower in fat and calories plus less expensive. A fun and different twist. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is awesome! I have made it several times and it never fails to make me smile. Today I was out of chipotle so I used Chipotle Cholula sauce. I started with 1 Tablespooon. It is a great sauce but mild compared to a canned chipotle. I added more for my taste but it made a worthy substitute although it is far better with the real thing. Love it with vegies. Also, the sun dried tomatoes in oil can be expensive so I heated up some olive oil and added sundried tomatoes I found in bulk foods then let it sit for a couple days . Worked fine. I have also used just the dried tomatoes without soaking in oil, just chopped them up a bit first. The roasted red peppers can be done in your oven. Just use 2 small or 1 and 1/2 of med size peppers. Char under the broiler and skin before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
One of the best Hummus recipes around! The only adjustment was I increased the chipolte peppers to 2 and poured some of the "sauce" from the can into the chickpeas and added about 1/2 tblspoon of sea salt. So much can be done with this - will try adding garlic next time. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States