Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I've been a big fan of Sabra's Supremely Spicy Hummus for years now but I'm not the biggest fan of the consistency, and the preservatives they add so my girlfriend who is a chef suggested I make my own. I followed this recipe except I didn't use water, I used a bit of the reserved liquid from the beans. Additionally I removed the hulls from the beans. I used 6 chipotle peppers which I blended, and minced one more and stirred in for some added punch. I added cayenne pepper, and chili powder and did not have cilantro. I used the adobo sauce from the peppers which definitely added some smokey flavor. Next time I will probably use half the peppers, and add red pepper flakes, and pimento and chili peppers to turn up the heat. For the cost of one 15oz Sabra container, you can easily make 60oz of your own, free of chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious Hummus dip! I will use this again and again. I made the same mistake as another reviewer did... The recipe calls for 1 "canned" chipoltle pepper in adobo sauce- NOT 1 "can" of chipolte peppers... My hummus was very spicy since I used the whole can. (I still liked it but my husband isn't into spicy stuff). I read the reviews after I made it and read how a reviewer already warned us of that mistake. Lol I never read directions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Sooo good! Since I live in The Netherlands, I couldn't find chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. I substituted it for some 'sambal badjak' (Indonesian seasoned chilipaste), and it turned out great! Loved it, and I'm sure I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I have never reviewed a recipe before, but this is so delicious, I just had to tell somebody about it. It is so flavourful, to die for wow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Yes! Finally a hummus with some taste and sparkle. I will never buy store bought again, I made this and took some to work, even those who don't like heat could not stop. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I hate to be a downer, but I really didn't like this. I'm not even sure why: I like all the ingredients that go into it. Maybe it's because not a single ingredient really stood out in flavor. It tasted vaguely like red pepper with a slightly smoky aftertaste. I don't think the cilantro did good things for it either, and I love cilantro. Thanks for sharing anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is oh-my-stars good! I've made plenty of hummus before, but I think it is the dried tomatoes that give this particular hummus a different kick. I used smokey chipotle powder rather than the peppers in adobo because that's what I had on hand, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Shopping for the ingredients for this recipe had some challenges. I had no idea how many different kinds of roasted peppers and sundried tomatoes even existed and I had to hunt to find the "Chipotle Peppers" Thanks to Unico and Casa Fiesta I found products I thought would work. My hummus is so hot! I keep walking back to eat more (with pita bread) as I type this, but hot! Oh my! I used "Flame Roasted Pepers" by Unico and I bought the 370ml jar - which I think was close to double what the recipe called for at 7oz, so I used about half. I accidently bought Julienne cut sundried tomatoes - so I guessed at how much "6 whole" would be. Chipolte Peppers from Casa Fiesta.....I used two of them because they looked small. I don't know about chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, my grocery store didn't seem to have it. I am glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Great! I made it with tahini sauce instead of paste. It was GONE! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I love this hummus. I served it with crudites and crackers for a Ladies' Night In, and everyone liked it. I did not add any water, but probably doubled the olive oil. I roasted my own red pepper, and that was plenty of flavor at a fraction of the cost. Also, I only had dehydrated sundried tomatoes on hand, so I soaked those in some water before adding to the mix. Oh, and I used 2 chipotles. It was spicy, but not prohibitively so. It does make a ton, but I used the leftovers in a wrap with feta and veggies for lunches throughout the week. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States