Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Great hummus. I ran into a little trouble because some of my sun dried tomatoes had been out of the oil and were a little too tough to be chopped in the food processor. Make sure the tomatoes are submerged before using them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This hummus was delicious. Very flavorful with a hint of spicy - not overwhelming. I used the ingredients as listed - except no tahini as my store does not sell it. The only change I made to prep was a tip I read on another hummus recipe to make a creamier mixture: Drain the garbanzo beans and pour them into a bowl of water. With fingers, gently rub the beans to loosen the hull. Hulls will float to the top and you can easily scoop them out. When you've removed them all, drain off the water and use the beans as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
A great recipe! I added more chipotle peppers and adobo sauce, lemon juice, garlic, cumin, and cilantro. I played with it till I thought it had enough flavor but I think I pretty much doubled up on all of it and I left off the sun-dried tomatoes. I made it last night and I'm going to make it again tonight. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Oooooh my! This is soooooo good! I made a couple of alterations- Instead of 1/2 cup water, I used water and a splash of the juice from the bottle of red peppers as well as a healthy dose of the adobo sauce from the chipotle peppers. I used lime as weel as lemon, left out the tomato. I used dried cilantro as that is what I had. I tasted it prior to adding the tahini, and it was great without, although it does add depth to the flavor. You can fiddle with this recipe to suit your taste. It's winner for sure, and will be going to our next office party! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I've made this twice so far for parties and every time I make it, someone requests the recipe! The only change I make is that I leave out the red peppers. By far the best hummus recipe I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My husband gave me an empty container and said he will never eat it again..... yeah right! He didn't like hummus until today and now he loves it!!! Awesome recipe. Just the right amount of kick. Great for dipping veggies, pita chips, and Triscuits. I use this as a spread in my veggie wraps instead of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I would have given it 5 stars but I wasn't completely happy with it's consistancy. It was mealy. I like a very creamy hoummus. No matter how much i blended it in my processor, I couldn't get that effect. Tasty though but a bir watery. Great combination of ingredients though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
If I could give this more stars, I would. It is sooo yummy!!!!! I loved the added kick from the peppers and the color is beautiful! I love regular ol' hummus - but no more - this is IT for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Delicious. I didn't have any sundried tomato or cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
so unbelievably tasty! i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States