Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The recipe is a whopping 5. Thank you for the fantastic recipe. Luckily I love spicy. It would have been a great idea to specify one chipotle pepper in adobo sauce and omit the wording canned. This would have probably avoided some confusion. As several other people have mentioned, by mistake they read one can of chipotle peppers, so did I - but as I said I love spicy. So please be for-warned - only use one chipotle pepper not the whole can if you do not like spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is awesome! I took it to a get together and it was wiped out super fast. I love the smoky flavor and added 2 peppers for a little extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEKRIKET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Best I ever tasted. The only changes I made was that I roasted the red pepper myself and garlic cloves. I did leave out the tahini as my daughter is allergic to sesame seed. It was still really good. If serving immediately go with what you taste now. But if chilling for tomorrow, hold up on how much chipotle pepper/sauce you use. It gets spicier as the ingredients marry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I'm with Savvyhostess why buy overpriced hummus at the store (Wally World store brand chickpeas are only 68 cents a can)when it is so easy to make plus it tastes better.I made it pretty much as written but of course not exactly.I see no point in draining the beans and adding water back to it.Why not just use the liquid that is in the can?I also puree a can of chipotles in adobo sauce and add one teaspoon at a time until i get the heat level i want.So much better than that bland stuff premade from the store ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is the first hummus recipe that I have made. I did add two of the chipotle chili because we do like spicy foods. It was easier to make than what I had always envisioned. I just let the food processor do its job. Definitely is a keeper in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is exactly what I was looking for and is soooo good! It tastes like the one I get from Trader Joe's that used to be my favorite. I like that I can customize this recipe to suit the tastes of my husband and kids - some of us like it spicier and some like it milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was my 1st attempt at making hummus, and it was a hit. I loved the balance of flavors. I used roasted peppers and sun dried tomatoes from the olive bar at the grocery store and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Good recipe but it can get expensive to make with the whole can of red peppers and the sun-dried tomatoes. When I made it the 2nd time I omitted the red peppers and tomatoes and the taste was just as good if not better. Try omitting these 2 ingredients for a more cost effective recipe. Hummus also turned out too watery when following the directions as written - be cautious and add the water little by little. You really don't need an entire half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe. I only regret not using the water in the roasted bell peppers for the 1/2 cup of water called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is good...very good even without the tahini and next time I will not bother adding roasted peppers. It was better without!! I had no sundried tomatoes either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States