Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Good recipe but it can get expensive to make with the whole can of red peppers and the sun-dried tomatoes. When I made it the 2nd time I omitted the red peppers and tomatoes and the taste was just as good if not better. Try omitting these 2 ingredients for a more cost effective recipe. Hummus also turned out too watery when following the directions as written - be cautious and add the water little by little. You really don't need an entire half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe. I only regret not using the water in the roasted bell peppers for the 1/2 cup of water called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is good...very good even without the tahini and next time I will not bother adding roasted peppers. It was better without!! I had no sundried tomatoes either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
If you like hummus with a kick, this is for you. I make this often in my blender since I don't have a food processor. It takes a bit of stirring but it is well worth it. The only thing I do different is that I add the whole jar of roasted red bell peppers because they don't keep and I do not want to waste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My husband and I agree that this recipe is a keeper. I upped the chipolte pepper to one and a half for a little more heat. Perfect! Our Latino BIL couldn't stop eating it. I had to send the leftovers home with him! Now that's an endorsement! Thanks, SavvyHostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Very good but a bit thick. The 2nd time I made this I added more garlic, didn't have the peppers so just added more sun dried tomatoes in olive oil, and put 2 chipotle peppers in ~ fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I prefer white bean hummus vs garbanzo/chickpea hummus, as it provides a much creamier textured hummus. So, I used white beans for this recipe. I also halved all the ingredients. I did use 1/2 a sweet red bell pepper I roasted on my grill. I did not have the sun-dried tomato or cilantro, and cut lemon juice back to 1 tablespoon (personal taste). This was good, but I should not have cut the chipotle pepper in 1/2, but should have used a whole pepper, just not spicy enough. Next time I will add the sun-dried tomato and cilantro, too. I think these ingredients would have added more complex flavor, but this was a very good hummus even though I did not include all the listed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I read the recipe wrong too and since I was making a half batch I used half the can of chipotle peppers. But I like hot so it was awesome. I normally make roasted red pepper but this is my new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This had tons of flavor and is far from boring hummus. I enjoyed the addition of chipotle and roasted red peppers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was very good, with a little tweaking to suit your own taste. I ended up adding more garlic as well as a little more tahini. Next time, I will try some lime juice and omitting either the tomatoes or roasted peppers, and the cilantro. Sometimes less is more. Also, be sure to rinse the garbanzo beans before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States