Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is good...very good even without the tahini and next time I will not bother adding roasted peppers. It was better without!! I had no sundried tomatoes either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
If you like hummus with a kick, this is for you. I make this often in my blender since I don't have a food processor. It takes a bit of stirring but it is well worth it. The only thing I do different is that I add the whole jar of roasted red bell peppers because they don't keep and I do not want to waste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My husband and I agree that this recipe is a keeper. I upped the chipolte pepper to one and a half for a little more heat. Perfect! Our Latino BIL couldn't stop eating it. I had to send the leftovers home with him! Now that's an endorsement! Thanks, SavvyHostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Very good but a bit thick. The 2nd time I made this I added more garlic, didn't have the peppers so just added more sun dried tomatoes in olive oil, and put 2 chipotle peppers in ~ fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I prefer white bean hummus vs garbanzo/chickpea hummus, as it provides a much creamier textured hummus. So, I used white beans for this recipe. I also halved all the ingredients. I did use 1/2 a sweet red bell pepper I roasted on my grill. I did not have the sun-dried tomato or cilantro, and cut lemon juice back to 1 tablespoon (personal taste). This was good, but I should not have cut the chipotle pepper in 1/2, but should have used a whole pepper, just not spicy enough. Next time I will add the sun-dried tomato and cilantro, too. I think these ingredients would have added more complex flavor, but this was a very good hummus even though I did not include all the listed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I read the recipe wrong too and since I was making a half batch I used half the can of chipotle peppers. But I like hot so it was awesome. I normally make roasted red pepper but this is my new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This had tons of flavor and is far from boring hummus. I enjoyed the addition of chipotle and roasted red peppers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was very good, with a little tweaking to suit your own taste. I ended up adding more garlic as well as a little more tahini. Next time, I will try some lime juice and omitting either the tomatoes or roasted peppers, and the cilantro. Sometimes less is more. Also, be sure to rinse the garbanzo beans before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Amazing dip! I loved this dip as did everyone who tried it. I only added one garlic clove as mine were huge. Slightly less tahini as I can find it overpowering in some hummus. I only added one roasted red pepper as I only had one left in the jar. I couldn't find the pepper in adobo in Australia so added some chopped jar jalepenos for spice. This may mean I didn't have the smoky flavour but we all still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I've been a big fan of Sabra's Supremely Spicy Hummus for years now but I'm not the biggest fan of the consistency, and the preservatives they add so my girlfriend who is a chef suggested I make my own. I followed this recipe except I didn't use water, I used a bit of the reserved liquid from the beans. Additionally I removed the hulls from the beans. I used 6 chipotle peppers which I blended, and minced one more and stirred in for some added punch. I added cayenne pepper, and chili powder and did not have cilantro. I used the adobo sauce from the peppers which definitely added some smokey flavor. Next time I will probably use half the peppers, and add red pepper flakes, and pimento and chili peppers to turn up the heat. For the cost of one 15oz Sabra container, you can easily make 60oz of your own, free of chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States