Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I can't seem to keep this around long. Everyone loves this recipe. My daughter takes this with rice crackers in her backpack to share at school and hubby gets requests at work for me to keep sending it for the guys to munch on. Even some non-hummus eaters like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was really good. definitely tastes better after sitting in the fridge for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was fantastic... my friends thought it was much better than store-bought. The second time I made it I used less tahini (I could really taste it in the first version), no roasted red peppers (didn't have any) but threw in an extra sun dried tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe indicates, but found it a bit bland. I then added another chipotle pepper, upped the salt by several pinches, added another clove of garlic, upped the lemon juice to 1/3c, and included the juice from the roasted red peppers. The result was the best hummus I have made yet, but the original recipe needed a fair bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I really like this hummus after making a few changes (I'm sure it is excellent as written as well). I did not add the water as I like my hummus chunky. I also did not add the sundried tomatoes or the roasted red peppers. Instead I used a roasted red pepper flavored tahini. Lastly, instead of adding a chipotle pepper, I added about 1/4 teaspoon of ground chipotle powder (much easier). Great recipe; thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skylittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
It's not a bad recipe, but I think it helps to have a taste for hummus before making it. I added some sour cream and loaded up on the spice. It turned out great. I would also recommend this as a condiment on sandwiches to replace ketchup or mustard depending on your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe exactly as it is! I like things spicy so I threw in another chipotle pepper. Yummy! Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Loved this recipe. Served it at a couple of Holiday parties and it got great comments. One occasion I added an additional Chipotle pepper for additional kick. I also followed a suggestion found here to toast the Pita with a little cumin....EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent Ecklor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It was good, but not great. I was really expecting some kick, but it was just a little lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Outstanding hummus. You and your guests will love the texture and flavor from this recipe. I made it for a party and everyone asked for the recipe. Serve with Naan or pita. I subsitute the liquid from the garbanzo beans for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States