Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
We like it. Although, it is quite spicy, and we like hot. So, you may want to lighten up on the Chipotles or at least sample the product as you add the pepper/adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent. I just recently started making hummus. I didn't even think I liked it till someone at a work party had me taste it. I've been playing it safe with more "traditional" recipes. I finally found actual tahini in the store (next to the peanut butter) and was anxious to try another batch. This one packs much more flavor. I didn't have sun dried tomatoes but I had a jar of pimentos (not sure why I had them). I threw a few tablespoons of those in with the rest of the igredients. It's the best batch of hummus I've ever made at home. I think even my "hummus hating" husband might be willing to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Doubled the chipotle and skipped on the cumin, bell and tahini...fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was the first homemade hummus I created and WOW was it smokily delicious. All my friends raved about it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Wonderful! Didn't tell my husband and friends what it was until they tried it. The responses I received were A+, and I was told "I don't eat garbanzo beans, except for this now"! The second batch I made, I put the sundried tomatoes in the food processor a little earlier so they were chopped more, and not so chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Thank you so much for the recipe. This was a huge hit with my family and coworkers. I will definately put this in my recipe binder and make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SassyLady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is delicious. The recipe makes a TON and I'm glad because there is plenty left over after a large party :) I made it as is except added a bit more cumin and a half can of chipotle peppers to up the heat a bit. Its fun to eat, sweet and smokey at first then the spice kicks in at the end- yum! It took a long time for me to de-husk the beans as recommended in reviews and I would NOT repeat that step again since the hummus is already kind of coarse from the red peppers and tomatoes. But will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This hummus is amazing!!! We've made it a number of times and it is always a hit. Plus it is perfect for summer get togethers since it doesn't need to be refrigerated or heated, and can be served with pita chips (Bare Naked from Sam's Club are the best!) or veggies. To make it spicier, add some adobo sauce (also gives nice color) and/or another chipotle pepper. For a less expensive version, omit the roasted red peppers and/or the sun dried tomatoes. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delicious! You can forgo the sun-dried tomatoes and still have a very tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States