Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious Hummus dip! I will use this again and again. I made the same mistake as another reviewer did... The recipe calls for 1 "canned" chipoltle pepper in adobo sauce- NOT 1 "can" of chipolte peppers... My hummus was very spicy since I used the whole can. (I still liked it but my husband isn't into spicy stuff). I read the reviews after I made it and read how a reviewer already warned us of that mistake. Lol I never read directions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Sooo good! Since I live in The Netherlands, I couldn't find chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. I substituted it for some 'sambal badjak' (Indonesian seasoned chilipaste), and it turned out great! Loved it, and I'm sure I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I have never reviewed a recipe before, but this is so delicious, I just had to tell somebody about it. It is so flavourful, to die for wow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Yes! Finally a hummus with some taste and sparkle. I will never buy store bought again, I made this and took some to work, even those who don't like heat could not stop. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I hate to be a downer, but I really didn't like this. I'm not even sure why: I like all the ingredients that go into it. Maybe it's because not a single ingredient really stood out in flavor. It tasted vaguely like red pepper with a slightly smoky aftertaste. I don't think the cilantro did good things for it either, and I love cilantro. Thanks for sharing anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is oh-my-stars good! I've made plenty of hummus before, but I think it is the dried tomatoes that give this particular hummus a different kick. I used smokey chipotle powder rather than the peppers in adobo because that's what I had on hand, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Shopping for the ingredients for this recipe had some challenges. I had no idea how many different kinds of roasted peppers and sundried tomatoes even existed and I had to hunt to find the "Chipotle Peppers" Thanks to Unico and Casa Fiesta I found products I thought would work. My hummus is so hot! I keep walking back to eat more (with pita bread) as I type this, but hot! Oh my! I used "Flame Roasted Pepers" by Unico and I bought the 370ml jar - which I think was close to double what the recipe called for at 7oz, so I used about half. I accidently bought Julienne cut sundried tomatoes - so I guessed at how much "6 whole" would be. Chipolte Peppers from Casa Fiesta.....I used two of them because they looked small. I don't know about chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, my grocery store didn't seem to have it. I am glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Great! I made it with tahini sauce instead of paste. It was GONE! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I love this hummus. I served it with crudites and crackers for a Ladies' Night In, and everyone liked it. I did not add any water, but probably doubled the olive oil. I roasted my own red pepper, and that was plenty of flavor at a fraction of the cost. Also, I only had dehydrated sundried tomatoes on hand, so I soaked those in some water before adding to the mix. Oh, and I used 2 chipotles. It was spicy, but not prohibitively so. It does make a ton, but I used the leftovers in a wrap with feta and veggies for lunches throughout the week. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Tastes great, but with all these ingredients, it actually is cheaper to buy hummus pre-made. I have also made without the sun-dried tomatoes, and it was still very good hummus, and a couple bucks cheaper. Also, the liquid overflowed my (Kitchenaid 8 cup) food processor's blade height, so if you have the smaller food processor, you should halve this recipe. I used 2 chipolte peppers. It turned out 'medium' spicy:perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States