Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was my 1st attempt at making hummus, and it was a hit. I loved the balance of flavors. I used roasted peppers and sun dried tomatoes from the olive bar at the grocery store and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Good recipe but it can get expensive to make with the whole can of red peppers and the sun-dried tomatoes. When I made it the 2nd time I omitted the red peppers and tomatoes and the taste was just as good if not better. Try omitting these 2 ingredients for a more cost effective recipe. Hummus also turned out too watery when following the directions as written - be cautious and add the water little by little. You really don't need an entire half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe. I only regret not using the water in the roasted bell peppers for the 1/2 cup of water called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is good...very good even without the tahini and next time I will not bother adding roasted peppers. It was better without!! I had no sundried tomatoes either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
If you like hummus with a kick, this is for you. I make this often in my blender since I don't have a food processor. It takes a bit of stirring but it is well worth it. The only thing I do different is that I add the whole jar of roasted red bell peppers because they don't keep and I do not want to waste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My husband and I agree that this recipe is a keeper. I upped the chipolte pepper to one and a half for a little more heat. Perfect! Our Latino BIL couldn't stop eating it. I had to send the leftovers home with him! Now that's an endorsement! Thanks, SavvyHostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Very good but a bit thick. The 2nd time I made this I added more garlic, didn't have the peppers so just added more sun dried tomatoes in olive oil, and put 2 chipotle peppers in ~ fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I prefer white bean hummus vs garbanzo/chickpea hummus, as it provides a much creamier textured hummus. So, I used white beans for this recipe. I also halved all the ingredients. I did use 1/2 a sweet red bell pepper I roasted on my grill. I did not have the sun-dried tomato or cilantro, and cut lemon juice back to 1 tablespoon (personal taste). This was good, but I should not have cut the chipotle pepper in 1/2, but should have used a whole pepper, just not spicy enough. Next time I will add the sun-dried tomato and cilantro, too. I think these ingredients would have added more complex flavor, but this was a very good hummus even though I did not include all the listed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I read the recipe wrong too and since I was making a half batch I used half the can of chipotle peppers. But I like hot so it was awesome. I normally make roasted red pepper but this is my new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This had tons of flavor and is far from boring hummus. I enjoyed the addition of chipotle and roasted red peppers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States