Smoky Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it just as written. I was a little worried at first because the mixture was so wet, but the 1/2 hour in the fridge really did the trick! I served the patties on a bed of fresh spinach and topped them with some spicy-sweet red pepper and onion jam. Wowsers, was it every yummy and my teens loved it, too! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Cooked these on the grill then put them on a pretzel bun with pepper jack and avocado. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious! A hit with even my non-veggie friends and relatives. Not to mention it's vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Great simple recipe! Took Ten minutes of prep time including the 5 minutes to let the flax seed thicken. I did not use the liquid smoke, but everything else was left the same. My wife made sure I saved the recipe to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Love it!!! I used quick cooking oatmeal instead of pnako bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These were really really yummy! I wanted to double the batch for lunches, but only had 1 can of black beans, so I added a can of red kidney beans as well. And then, because I had "scraps" left over from another meal, I added finely minced onion, green and red peppers, and mushrooms. Cooked in my cast iron skillet, these were easy, held together well, and very tasty! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Easy and delicious! I didn't have flax so I mixed 2 tsp tapioca starch into the bread crumbs and omitted the water. I also left out the extra salt and added onion powder. I dusted the patties in additional bread crumbs and pan fried them in 1/4 in. of oil for 2 min on each side. Great texture. The formed patties can be frozen for later, so why not make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
WOW are these YUMMY!!! I never write reviews but these were TOO good and they whipped up really quick. I will never buy those super expensive veggie burgers again. I did omit the liquid smoke and salt. I also used quick cook oatmeal instead of the panko bread crumbs. I also baked them on parchment paper instead of frying them. I found that the recipe made three nice size burgers not four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I didn't have flax seed, but made this anyway and loved it, got some flax seed and excited to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Finally, a black bean veggie burger that doesn't have a Mexican spin. I like the use of flax and water instead of egg. My husband took a bite and said "I think you're on to something with this one." Easy to modify if you want, but great as is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States