Smoky Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Why buy commercial sauce when it is this easy to make and so good? The liquid smoke is what makes this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Delicious BBQ sauce. I added Jack Daniel's (about 1/4 cup) because I like a hint of whiskey/bourbon with my sauce. It's on the spicy side, which is just how I like it. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I liked this, but made a couple little tweaks... some apple juice and vinegar to add that something extra... then a bit of mustard... didn't have liquid smoke on hand so a tps of chipotle gave it great smoke. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
First time making my own bbq sauce. I too didn't have liquid smoke, only had Pomegranate chipotle sauce that I used. I minced one clove garlic instead of using garlic powder. As another review said, it's too ketchupy so I'll cut back to 2 c or less next time. The ingredients make for a good and different flavor from bottled bbq sauces I've bought and I'll continue to make this. I have time to let it simmer, covered on low for longer than 10-15 minutes (it's simmering now and of course I'm taste testing it :) ), stir every now and then, really let the flavors incorporate with each other! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Oh Yeah!!!I followed the newer version,BUT,to start, I sauted 1/2 onion in a bit of olive oil and butter,added 1/2 finely chopped jalepeno, lg clove of garlic, a hit cider vinegar,and a squeeze of lemon. Let simmer for almost an hour as I added things and this is simply put"The Best"!!! 5 stars to be sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This BBQ sauce is FANTASTIC!! I used it for brisket and NOTHING was leftover. I did add a dash of cayenne pepper like some others did and added a bit more of W sauce and liquid smoke. Keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonnieEM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Great, great bbq sauce. Once in a while for a little kick, we cut up a couple of chipoltle peppers in adobo and add it. Other than that, nothing needs to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maxton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
OMG!!!! I will never buy b-b-que sauce again! I tolk the other's advice..I added more liq. smoke and woster. I also added about 2-3 T apple juice and 1T vinegar (would have used apple cider vinegar if I had it..), I also added about 1/2 cup italian dressing. I also bumped up all the spices and added cumin....best sauce ever thanks to everyone for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've been doing a version of this for years covering meatloaf for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking adding some mustard to the recipe. I also like it a bit spicier so I add more wooster, liquid smoke, cayenne pepper for our tastes. Also keeps well in the fridge. It's awesome on burgers too!!! I keep a container in the fridge and heat up to cover a variety of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
my husband loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States