Smoky Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Delicious BBQ sauce. I added Jack Daniel's (about 1/4 cup) because I like a hint of whiskey/bourbon with my sauce. It's on the spicy side, which is just how I like it. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I liked this, but made a couple little tweaks... some apple juice and vinegar to add that something extra... then a bit of mustard... didn't have liquid smoke on hand so a tps of chipotle gave it great smoke. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
First time making my own bbq sauce. I too didn't have liquid smoke, only had Pomegranate chipotle sauce that I used. I minced one clove garlic instead of using garlic powder. As another review said, it's too ketchupy so I'll cut back to 2 c or less next time. The ingredients make for a good and different flavor from bottled bbq sauces I've bought and I'll continue to make this. I have time to let it simmer, covered on low for longer than 10-15 minutes (it's simmering now and of course I'm taste testing it :) ), stir every now and then, really let the flavors incorporate with each other! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Oh Yeah!!!I followed the newer version,BUT,to start, I sauted 1/2 onion in a bit of olive oil and butter,added 1/2 finely chopped jalepeno, lg clove of garlic, a hit cider vinegar,and a squeeze of lemon. Let simmer for almost an hour as I added things and this is simply put"The Best"!!! 5 stars to be sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This BBQ sauce is FANTASTIC!! I used it for brisket and NOTHING was leftover. I did add a dash of cayenne pepper like some others did and added a bit more of W sauce and liquid smoke. Keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonnieEM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Great, great bbq sauce. Once in a while for a little kick, we cut up a couple of chipoltle peppers in adobo and add it. Other than that, nothing needs to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maxton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
OMG!!!! I will never buy b-b-que sauce again! I tolk the other's advice..I added more liq. smoke and woster. I also added about 2-3 T apple juice and 1T vinegar (would have used apple cider vinegar if I had it..), I also added about 1/2 cup italian dressing. I also bumped up all the spices and added cumin....best sauce ever thanks to everyone for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Why buy commercial sauce when it is this easy to make and so good? The liquid smoke is what makes this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've been doing a version of this for years covering meatloaf for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking adding some mustard to the recipe. I also like it a bit spicier so I add more wooster, liquid smoke, cayenne pepper for our tastes. Also keeps well in the fridge. It's awesome on burgers too!!! I keep a container in the fridge and heat up to cover a variety of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
my husband loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States