Smoky Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I generally do not like bbq sauce. At all. Not even a little. So when a soup recipe that otherwise looked delicious called for bbq sauce, I had none to hand since I do not buy nor generally use the stuff. What to do? Allrecipes to the rescue (once again). This recipe for bbq sauce was awesome. I used fresh garlic as I've no dried and a dash of cayenne because I don't have hot sauce. It was sweet, smoky, and right tasty. Also easy peasy. The soup turned out great and I used the leftover sauce to great effect on shredded chicken for bbq chicken sandwiches. My husband may even get me to acquiesce to bbq sauce on barbecued meat if we use this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this recipe and used it on a rack of pork ribs on the outdoor grill. The ribs were outstanding.The next day I used it on chicken,again, outstanding flavor.It has a very nice smoky taste.I rate it 5 stars. Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Toledo, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Just made this for the first time. I tend to like my ribs to have a sweet and hot flavor. I may have gone overboard with the pepper sauce...I think I opened up parts of my nose that haven't opened in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bachelor Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Very good sweet, smoky sauce! I like a little more heat so I added dry mustard and cayenne. Used it on boneless pork ribs with huge success. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This BBQ sauce is FANTASTIC!! I used it for brisket and NOTHING was leftover. I did add a dash of cayenne pepper like some others did and added a bit more of W sauce and liquid smoke. Keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonnieEM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
First time making my own bbq sauce. I too didn't have liquid smoke, only had Pomegranate chipotle sauce that I used. I minced one clove garlic instead of using garlic powder. As another review said, it's too ketchupy so I'll cut back to 2 c or less next time. The ingredients make for a good and different flavor from bottled bbq sauces I've bought and I'll continue to make this. I have time to let it simmer, covered on low for longer than 10-15 minutes (it's simmering now and of course I'm taste testing it :) ), stir every now and then, really let the flavors incorporate with each other! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an unusual recipe for an Australian to make - our idea of BBQ sauce comes from a plastic bottle, is runny, vinegar-y & (after this), slightly depressing!! This sauce was thick, rich & had the best sweet, sour & smokey BBQ flavour. I used fresh garlic & dried chili as I didn't have any chili sauce, & poured it over a couple of pork chops before slow baking them for an hour & a half. So divine. This is one cooking smell I don't want out of the house! It's going to be hard to beat this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've been doing a version of this for years covering meatloaf for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking adding some mustard to the recipe. I also like it a bit spicier so I add more wooster, liquid smoke, cayenne pepper for our tastes. Also keeps well in the fridge. It's awesome on burgers too!!! I keep a container in the fridge and heat up to cover a variety of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Delicious BBQ sauce. I added Jack Daniel's (about 1/4 cup) because I like a hint of whiskey/bourbon with my sauce. It's on the spicy side, which is just how I like it. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was perfect. I used tomato sauce (passada) which made no difference at all - except to calories, salt and sugar. I used some straight away, which was good. And then I used some more a week later, which was great. Easy, quick, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States