Smoky Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I love the flavor or this sauce. I added a teaspoon of minced garlic and fresh spices. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this recipe and used it on a rack of pork ribs on the outdoor grill. The ribs were outstanding.The next day I used it on chicken,again, outstanding flavor.It has a very nice smoky taste.I rate it 5 stars. Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Toledo, Oregon, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Very good sweet, smoky sauce! I like a little more heat so I added dry mustard and cayenne. Used it on boneless pork ribs with huge success. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I generally do not like bbq sauce. At all. Not even a little. So when a soup recipe that otherwise looked delicious called for bbq sauce, I had none to hand since I do not buy nor generally use the stuff. What to do? Allrecipes to the rescue (once again). This recipe for bbq sauce was awesome. I used fresh garlic as I've no dried and a dash of cayenne because I don't have hot sauce. It was sweet, smoky, and right tasty. Also easy peasy. The soup turned out great and I used the leftover sauce to great effect on shredded chicken for bbq chicken sandwiches. My husband may even get me to acquiesce to bbq sauce on barbecued meat if we use this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an unusual recipe for an Australian to make - our idea of BBQ sauce comes from a plastic bottle, is runny, vinegar-y & (after this), slightly depressing!! This sauce was thick, rich & had the best sweet, sour & smokey BBQ flavour. I used fresh garlic & dried chili as I didn't have any chili sauce, & poured it over a couple of pork chops before slow baking them for an hour & a half. So divine. This is one cooking smell I don't want out of the house! It's going to be hard to beat this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is a great-tasting, easy-to-make bbq sauce. We thought it was just a bit ketchupy so we added a little bit more Worcestershire and a little bit more liquid smoke, a few extra dashes of hot sauce and just a sprinkling of chili powder and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This barbecue sauce is amazing! I halved the recipe and added a little more worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke. I also added about a half teaspoon of cumin. I used it in my chicken recipe and it was a really good restaurant quality meal. I hope this helps, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I just made this sauce and it was great,added a few ingredients turned out nice and spicy after adding cayenne,Chili powder and cumin plus some extra Tabasco, liquid smoke and freshly squeezed lemon juice.i will definitely make it again thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
The only reason I didn't give this five stars is because I had to change up the recipe a bit....I didn't have pepper sauce and so I used chipotle chili powder. But my husband loved it and I can't wait to try it on other meats this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Delicious BBQ sauce. I added Jack Daniel's (about 1/4 cup) because I like a hint of whiskey/bourbon with my sauce. It's on the spicy side, which is just how I like it. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States