Smoky Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Why buy commercial sauce when it is this easy to make and so good? The liquid smoke is what makes this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
OMG!!!! I will never buy b-b-que sauce again! I tolk the other's advice..I added more liq. smoke and woster. I also added about 2-3 T apple juice and 1T vinegar (would have used apple cider vinegar if I had it..), I also added about 1/2 cup italian dressing. I also bumped up all the spices and added cumin....best sauce ever thanks to everyone for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Great, great bbq sauce. Once in a while for a little kick, we cut up a couple of chipoltle peppers in adobo and add it. Other than that, nothing needs to be changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maxton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This BBQ sauce is FANTASTIC!! I used it for brisket and NOTHING was leftover. I did add a dash of cayenne pepper like some others did and added a bit more of W sauce and liquid smoke. Keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonnieEM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Oh Yeah!!!I followed the newer version,BUT,to start, I sauted 1/2 onion in a bit of olive oil and butter,added 1/2 finely chopped jalepeno, lg clove of garlic, a hit cider vinegar,and a squeeze of lemon. Let simmer for almost an hour as I added things and this is simply put"The Best"!!! 5 stars to be sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
First time making my own bbq sauce. I too didn't have liquid smoke, only had Pomegranate chipotle sauce that I used. I minced one clove garlic instead of using garlic powder. As another review said, it's too ketchupy so I'll cut back to 2 c or less next time. The ingredients make for a good and different flavor from bottled bbq sauces I've bought and I'll continue to make this. I have time to let it simmer, covered on low for longer than 10-15 minutes (it's simmering now and of course I'm taste testing it :) ), stir every now and then, really let the flavors incorporate with each other! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I liked this, but made a couple little tweaks... some apple juice and vinegar to add that something extra... then a bit of mustard... didn't have liquid smoke on hand so a tps of chipotle gave it great smoke. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Delicious BBQ sauce. I added Jack Daniel's (about 1/4 cup) because I like a hint of whiskey/bourbon with my sauce. It's on the spicy side, which is just how I like it. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
The only reason I didn't give this five stars is because I had to change up the recipe a bit....I didn't have pepper sauce and so I used chipotle chili powder. But my husband loved it and I can't wait to try it on other meats this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I just made this sauce and it was great,added a few ingredients turned out nice and spicy after adding cayenne,Chili powder and cumin plus some extra Tabasco, liquid smoke and freshly squeezed lemon juice.i will definitely make it again thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States