Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Awesome recipe! The hot chocolate mix added a nice touch although it sounded wierd to me at first. I left out the habanero from the recipe but added some to my own plate so my wife could eat too. This recipe makes a lot, probably more like 12 servings, so nutritional info is probably overstated since it's based on 8. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Well, I'm not a man, but I liked this a lot, so did my husband. Best eaten on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is the most amazing chili I've ever eaten. It might take a little extra time to make but the end result is well worth the effort. I used ground turkey breast which probably always makes a difference in any recipe. It really was not too hot, but rather, just right for a truly awesome and perfect scratch, authentic southwestern chili. By the way, what in the heck does cocoa mix do? Obviously I'm not a gourmet. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe was quick and easy to make. I had most of the ingredients on hand too! I added an extra habanaro pepper and one pablano for heat but the main seasonings really give this chili it's flavor. It was terrific!!!I will definitely make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Fantastic recipe. We had some variations (more beer, less chocolate, more spices, different hot pepper) but it was smoking hot and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Wild winter weather last night up here in Northwest N.J. and a perfect evening to make chili. Hubby and I made two pots; he did his own thing with beef and I made this recipe just for me. I used unsweetened cocoa powder and also put in about a half a cup of strong coffee. I used pinto and black beans instead of the kidney. One reviewer asked what the chocolate was supposed to do for the chili. All I can say is that it just adds a another layer of flavor. Jim, this is truly the best turkey chili and I thank you for submitting this delicious and hearty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wow!! What a great recipe! This would be great for a Superbowl party. Or any cold day for that matter.:P After having some without any additions, try it Frito Pie style with a dallop of sour cream, some Mexican cheese mix, and some fritos tossed in. Delicious! Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was one of the best chilis that I have ever had. My whole family enjoyed. It was just spicy enough but not too spicy. Never heard of putting cocoa mix in chili before but I'm game and the taste was fantastic. Could not even tell that this was chili made with turkey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
this chili was fantastic. my boyfriend and i love spicy food so this was right up our alley. all the flavors compliment each other so well. i have even added pineapple a few times to this recipe just to balance out the spicy with the sweet. i recommend this chili to everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Best chili I have ever eaten!! I have GERD so I need to watch my spice level -so I substituted the habanero for a jalapeno. After cooking the turkey mixture, I put everything into a crock pot (minus Kidney Beans and Corn) - and slow cooked it for 6 hours (add the corn and beans last hour of cooking so it doesn't get too mushy).... now that's gooooooood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States