Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We loved this! I didn't have the hot chocolate mix or liquid smoke so I compensated with some smoked pepper flakes and sriracha sauce, as well as chopped roasted green chile which is local to us in New Mexico. Taco seasoning is a good substitute for the spices, if needed. I made it a second time using sautéd tofu instead of ground turkey and it still rocked. I love a recipe that is "tweak-able" and works with variations. Thanks Jimbolya, for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Chili was okay, lots of heat but surprisingly bland. Expected much more based on all the fantastic reviews. A lot of ingredients and very involved for a recipe that wasn't better than the chili I already make. Was concerned about the inclusion of "hot chocolate", but (thankfully) you don't taste it at all. I substituted "Club Soda" for Beer because I don't drink and don't like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I didn't have any beer to add. However, I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I love it. So easy, nutrious and excellent flavor. Keeper recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
instructions were easy, i made it exactly as the recipe called for came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made this for dinner the other night and my husband loved it. It was even better the next day. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
i have made this chili for years and just love love love it. i make a HUGE batch and we take it to lunch, have it for dinner, pour it over mac n cheese. i like my chili with lots of beans so i sometimes halve the meat and double the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made this recipe for a chili cook-off and won 1st prize! The only change I made was to substitute 2 discs of Mexican Chocolate for the hot coco & WOW! The most amazing flavor combination. I'm making it for another chili cook off next month & I hope it at least places in the top 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Really good flavor and very spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I made this recipe for my fiance and I after craving some "fall" comfort food. I made some substitutions: used a habanero and a jalapeno pepper, used 3/4ths of a beer, 2 teaspoons of chocolate syrup as I didn't have hot chocolate packets, and fire roasted some fresh corn from the farmer's market. I simmered for an hour and half and it was the perfect consistency, not too thick or thin. My fiance, an excellent cook in his own right, said it was the best chili he has ever had :)))) We both thought it was amazing. Made some Jiffy cornbread with it. It was the perfect combination of spicy and sweet. GREAT SUCCESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States