Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Oh wow! I love this chili because I love spicy food. This is by far the spiciest chili I've ever made and I loved every bite. Some recipes sacrifice flavor for spicy, but this recipe had both! I accidentally only purchased one can of the diced tomato and green chilies, but it tasted fine with just one. Next time I'll read the recipe more carefully and try it with two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I have made this chili over and over again for 3 years, I think. My peeps -- friends and family -- LOVE IT. I nix the liquid smoke and 1/2 the Worcestershire sauce (salty stuff). I use 2 onions. I add some (2 TBPS) green chilies (love hot). I trade the habenero for jalapeno. I also use frozed corn at the end instead of canned. I add 2 cans of pinto beans too. Easy to make (somebody commented it was a lot of effort and I completely disagree) and just DELICIOUS! This is how we do chili in my house - awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Amazing recipe! I make as is except I do a jalapeno for the habenero. I make this for our Sunday family dinner and everyone loves this. It doubles well also (We have lots of people on Sunday!). Has that perfect heat level and has some great depth with the hot cocoa and smoke so it's not just hot that you are tasting. Love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFTYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Amazing! We make this all the time. It's our favorite chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This recipe is SO good. Everyone who tries it loves it, especially my husband (He only learned it was turkey and not beef a week ago, and I've been making it for a year :)). I've made it with jalapenos and no habanero before; it turns out great both ways. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I always tend to use ground turkey in lieu of ground beef - it's healthier. After relentlessly searching I found this. There is NO turning back. The first spoonful is full of flavor - a cornucopia of taste. It truly drags you back for another spoonful. The heat kicks up. But you can't stop. The flavor. It pulls you back in. This chili has done the rotation. My father-in-law requests it during the winter. My pals ask for it when we watch the games on Sunday. The boys ask me to bring it on our hunting trip. Even got rave reviews around the office. The daughter (8) loves it. My dog sits and oogles me as I eat. THE ONE AND ONLY WORK OF CAUTION. You will have "issues" the next day - it has got to be the all the spice - but it if it isn't worth it. With all due respect to Dr. Scoville, we really should rename this, Devil's Revenge Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is one of my favorite allrecipes recipes. Fast, easy, and most importantly awesomely tasty! I do like making a few modifications though. First, I use two habaneros and leave one whole. It still isn't terribly spicy like that, but I think it's nice. I also like adding a cup of chopped mushrooms (sautee them with the onion). For the meat I don't usually have ground turkey, but I find 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound finely chopped boneless skinless chicken thighs are a really good alternative. Finally, I like to top it with a bit of cheddar and some plain greek yogurt (which I use as a healthy substitute for sour cream). Overall, I definitely recommend you try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Awesome! Nobody can believe its turkey! Only little tweaks: I use a heaping TBS of cocoa instead of the hot choc packet and I halve the liquid smoke. Put it in the crockpot for football season---winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very good , in almost every way. Hot chocolate was a very good idea, but I used the blender to mix the beer, the sauce, the smoke flavoring, 1 tsp cinnamon and home grown hot peppers (aji amarillo and cascabel to taste, with one tin (1 1/2 cup) of black beans and 1 tin (1 1/2 cup) kidney or pinto beans for a richer flavor. There is enough salt in the canned goods we never add any extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinoahater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Nice alternative to my regular chili. We don't make it all the time, but when we do, I find it to be easy, tasty, and makes plenty for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States