Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Wow! This chili was so good, I'll never make another chili again. I am a bit of a wimp with spiciness, so I used a jalapeño instead of a habanero. I also opted not to use hot sauce. It was still plenty spicy, and the combination of flavors is simply outstanding. It was a hit with the family and they've already requested I make it again. It was easy to make, so this is going to get made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe but I found it was a little too dry for our taste. Consequently I used 2 15oz cans of tomato sauce, added 1/4 C Ketchup (for more tomato flavor) and 4 undrained 10oz cans of Rotel Hot diced tomatos with habanero (I used 1 jalapeno instead of a habanero pepper because of this). This is our new favorite, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I like that it didn't have as much fat. Too many canned ingredients so the flavor wasn't that intense. Seems like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I added Negra Modelo for my beer. It was perfect! As an ingredient and as beverage! It served as a delicious match! This was full flavor with a bit of spice at first taste, then an extra pop of spice hits you. I am not a huge fan of spicy food, but my husband is, however this is perfect for it to be a favorite of both of ours now! I didn't even tell him it was turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Made exact to recipe with the exception of a jalapeno instead of habanero as they didn't have it at my market. Lucky me! I gave five stars because it was awesome turkey chili and it's called smokin' for a reason but It was a bit too smokin' for me although I ate it all(way too spicy for my hubby). I think maybe if I use one can with green chili and one without or cut back the red pepper flakes it would be better for us. Really though, Best Chili EVER! Try sprinkling a shredded cheese blend over the top with a nice dollop of sour cream, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I love, love, love this recipe! I only add 1/2 the amount of hot sauce, but if you like it super spicy leave it alone. Thanks for the recipe JIMBOLYA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I've made this recipe more times than I can count over the years, and it remains a huge favourite in my house. I don't modify it much; sometimes I leave out the beer, if I don't have any on hand, and I substitute the kidney beans for black beans (unfortunately my other half doesn't like kidney beans). I love it the way it is. However I think this recipe would be a cinch to modify to your tastes. I think I'll try adding more veggies and less meat next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It was the best chili I ever made. My family truly enjoyed it, I made it for a big crowd of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This must be the best chili I've ever made. I took notes from Elfman 42 and made his changes with the red & green bell peppers. It made for a colorful chili! And I only had an expensive beer so that worked fine. The only heat I used was the chili powder and ONE teaspoon of chili flakes. And then used 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb ground turkey. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Great recipe!! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States