Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Very good spicy chili. I used 1 lb lean ground beef and added 2 extra cans of beans (pinto and black). Everything else left the same. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Floyds Knobs, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
The perfect level of spiciness for this Texas girl! I sub venison for turkey and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delicious. Only substitutions I made was using ground beef instead of turkey since that's what I had on hand and used 1 hot green pepper along with 1 dried habanero (since dried is all that's available in my area). Since I used the dried habanero, I didn't need to add any hot sauce at the end. This made a very thick and filling chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is one of the best chili recipes ever. I rarely write reviews, but this dish has such a complex flavor (for a turkey chili recipe). All of the ingredients meld perfectly. No need to change a thing. Has a great level of heat. Thanks for this awesome recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The best chili ever! Love the spice and the ease of putting everything together. Serve with sour cream, cheddar cheese and scallions and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This chili was outstanding for a large crowd of people watching the Super Bowl! The only thing differences to the written recipe were the following: hunts fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes with chilies, salsa instead of tomato sauce, 2 jalapeno peppers instead of habanero pepper, and 2 bell peppers worth of diced red-yellow-green bell peppers... The liquid smoke and the hot cocoa mix is superb in relaxing the heat and acidity of the chili at first bite. It really makes for a second, third, and fourth helping as many did on Super Bowl Sunday. Best I've ever made! Thanks for a great redcipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe was excellent. The only changes I made was substituting Northern beans for the Kidney beans and I left out the corn and hot sauce at the end. The flavor was great. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Okay...I am a total foodie! I grew up down south and I love spicy foods and soul food. I lived in Chicago for many years and that's where I really developed my tastes. This chili is SOOO freakin' good! One of the best chocolate bars I ever had was chili chocolate, and the combination is stellar!! I would've never thought to add it in with chili, but why not?? So great!! The only changes I made was a slosh more of beer and an additional can of beans. I followed everything else exactly, and it just came out so wonderful! I am making this for the second time upon this writing but plan to make, eat, share, and love this recipe for the rest of my life. It just don't get no better y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Holy cow this chili was good! You can't even tell that it is made out of turkey - I made my husband guess what it was and he never did. This chili is even better than the boilermaker chili on this site, which was our favorite until we found this one. The only thing I changed was the type of chili pepper - I couldn't find the one needed so put in an aneheim pepper which is a little more mild. Thanks for a great recipe! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was awesome. I had to use two serrano peppers instead of the habanero because the store I shop at doesn't have habanero, but we will be trying it with habanero next time! I used ground deer meat instead of turkey and I omitted the corn because we only like corn on the cob. You have out done yourself my good sir. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States