Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is by far my favorite recipe for chili. I have trouble with heartburn, so I used a jalepeno pepper instead of habanero. I had NO heartburn, and more importantly, the chili did not lack flavor or a kick. I also cooked dry kidney beans instead of using canned. That is only because I have been cooking beans for so many years that it has turned me into a bit of a bean snob. :-) For me, canned beans just don't have the same flavor, but I do understand some people don't have the time to cook them. I also used Mexican oregano instead of Mediterranean. Will be making this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I love this recipe. This has become my go-to recipe for a tasty, warming, winter chili. I also love the fact that it calls for ground turkey rather than red-meat. The first time I made it I was a little wary of putting in the hot cocoa mix, but it really does work! Thanks JIMBOLYA for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This chili is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ouellette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I substituted turkey meat from leftover Christmas dinner instead of ground turkey. It still turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It's really good and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Not knocking this recipe. Just seemed like a lot of effort for a pretty good chili. I reduced the cumin & red pepper (I used crushed), but other than that, pretty much followed the recipe. Still hot enough to make your nose run, but not have your tongue burn/tingle. 'Glad I tried it. Doubt I'll make it again though. Second day: Identified the taste. It reminds me of Brunswick stew. Well, if had more vegs; but that's the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great chili! I topped mine with sharp cheddar, sour cream and cilantro, and served it with quesadillas. Also served with fried grits (that were leftover from breakfast) and it was delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this chili for a large crowd of 50 so I timesed the recipe by 6, everyone loved the chili, great crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
It was ok thought it was too much spice dulling out the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Oh yummy yummy! I altered it some as I used what was on hand and I couldn't have handled it as hot as it would have been anyhow. I cooked it in the crock pot for about 1 hr on high and 6 hrs on low. I used leftover thanksgiving turkey, diced, a red and a green bell pepper, a sweet onion, small can of diced green chiles, 10 oz can of chile verde salsa, about a half a small can of diced jalepenos, a 14 oz can of tomatos, most of a 14 oz can of corn, half a can of beer, the worstershire and smoke and all the seasonings except the rep pepper flakes, 8 oz tomato sauce, smoke, and hot chocolate, no beans as I didn't have any. Just dumped it all in the pot, no precooking. Really good, spicy enough for my spice loving husband, and right on the edge of what I can handle. Topped with cheese and sour cream, some sourdough garlic bread on the side. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States