Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This chili is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ouellette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I substituted turkey meat from leftover Christmas dinner instead of ground turkey. It still turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It's really good and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Not knocking this recipe. Just seemed like a lot of effort for a pretty good chili. I reduced the cumin & red pepper (I used crushed), but other than that, pretty much followed the recipe. Still hot enough to make your nose run, but not have your tongue burn/tingle. 'Glad I tried it. Doubt I'll make it again though. Second day: Identified the taste. It reminds me of Brunswick stew. Well, if had more vegs; but that's the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great chili! I topped mine with sharp cheddar, sour cream and cilantro, and served it with quesadillas. Also served with fried grits (that were leftover from breakfast) and it was delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this chili for a large crowd of 50 so I timesed the recipe by 6, everyone loved the chili, great crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
It was ok thought it was too much spice dulling out the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Oh yummy yummy! I altered it some as I used what was on hand and I couldn't have handled it as hot as it would have been anyhow. I cooked it in the crock pot for about 1 hr on high and 6 hrs on low. I used leftover thanksgiving turkey, diced, a red and a green bell pepper, a sweet onion, small can of diced green chiles, 10 oz can of chile verde salsa, about a half a small can of diced jalepenos, a 14 oz can of tomatos, most of a 14 oz can of corn, half a can of beer, the worstershire and smoke and all the seasonings except the rep pepper flakes, 8 oz tomato sauce, smoke, and hot chocolate, no beans as I didn't have any. Just dumped it all in the pot, no precooking. Really good, spicy enough for my spice loving husband, and right on the edge of what I can handle. Topped with cheese and sour cream, some sourdough garlic bread on the side. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was excellent! I did omit the habanero and one tsp of red pepper flakes and it was still plenty hot! I loved all the spices and the hint of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Made this for a family dinner and it got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe, left out the corn and hot pepper sauce. It came out a little too hot for our tastes so I added three times the beans to counteract. I will certainly make this again but I will cut back a bit on the smoke flavoring. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States