Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Oh yummy yummy! I altered it some as I used what was on hand and I couldn't have handled it as hot as it would have been anyhow. I cooked it in the crock pot for about 1 hr on high and 6 hrs on low. I used leftover thanksgiving turkey, diced, a red and a green bell pepper, a sweet onion, small can of diced green chiles, 10 oz can of chile verde salsa, about a half a small can of diced jalepenos, a 14 oz can of tomatos, most of a 14 oz can of corn, half a can of beer, the worstershire and smoke and all the seasonings except the rep pepper flakes, 8 oz tomato sauce, smoke, and hot chocolate, no beans as I didn't have any. Just dumped it all in the pot, no precooking. Really good, spicy enough for my spice loving husband, and right on the edge of what I can handle. Topped with cheese and sour cream, some sourdough garlic bread on the side. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was excellent! I did omit the habanero and one tsp of red pepper flakes and it was still plenty hot! I loved all the spices and the hint of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Made this for a family dinner and it got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe, left out the corn and hot pepper sauce. It came out a little too hot for our tastes so I added three times the beans to counteract. I will certainly make this again but I will cut back a bit on the smoke flavoring. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This has become our favorte chili recipe ever. We love the habanero pepper in it. Perfection. For those weekends we are with family, we tone it down and use a little jalapeno instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Hot and sassy but depth of flavor lacking. For all the ingredients, I was expecting a bit more flavor. We prefer a thicker chili than found with this one. I would make this again if craving something spicy hot. Thanks JIMBOLYA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
SOOOOO Good!!! Left out habanero, jalapeno and corn, added a couple squirts more Sriracha sauce and it was AMAZING! SO much flavor and the right amount of heat. Made my face damp with sweat but didn't make me want to put my face in a snow bank. This will be a hit if you make it for a group or your family of chili lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I thought this chili was awesome! I following the recipe almost to a T, except that I let out the liquid smoke because I didn't have any, and used a jalapeno pepper instead of the habanero because that would be a little too spicy for us! It still had plenty of kick without feeling like you were going to cry from the heat! Excellent recipe, I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is an excellent chili recipe and the best turkey chili I've ever had. I have already made it 3 times. I have to use beef broth instead of beer because of a gluten intolerance and add more tomatoes/tomato sauce because I like more tomatoes. It is still quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I won 1st prize the chili contest at my work with this recipe. I added a small bar of 70% chocolate bar in stead of choc.mix. My coworker voted it for tastiest, no oily after taste. Must try..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
YUM! I don't add the pepper flakes or Habanero peppers until AFTER i dish out the kids portions- Also I substituted powdered baking cocoa for the cocoa mix as my daughter has a milk allergy. Served with cheddar beer bread its fantastic-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States