Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe except for these changes: heaping measurements of spices; added extra beer and liquid smoke and worcestershire sauce; used nesquick "less sugar" variety chocolate milk powder to taste instead of instant hot cocoa since that's all I had at home; used less red chili pepper flakes; omitted hot sauce at the end. Love the ratio of turkey meat to beans. Enjoyed the sweetness of the corn in there. The flavors are complex and layered. The cheese, sour cream and scallions juxtapose the heat from the chili. My husband does not love super spicy foods like I do, but he thoroughly enjoyed it as well. A hearty, relatively healthy chili that will remain in my rotation. I can't wait to taste it tomorrow again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I use jalapeño instead of habanero because I'm a big chicken. But this chili is my favorite! I love to add other spices like nutmeg and ground cloves, and let all the spices cook a little with the meat and vegetables, before adding the liquids and tomatoes. I've made it quite a few times this winter, as we have had so much snow. Great recipe for hibernating by a cozy fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by editchik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Spicey, even without adding a habanero pepper. I had to add a 48 oz jar of Prego because there wasn't any liquid in the dish at all. If you want to eliminate the sodium used in the canned tomatoes and corn, there was appx 2.5 cups of chopped tomatoes after draining the liquid. For the corn, you could use frozen instead of canned. I'm on the fence with this recipe, since I feel like I didn't experience the full flavour since I had to add so much Prego. Update: The next day, this was very good with the changes I described above. So, I'm giving this 3 stars for the original recipe and 5 stars with the changes I made to salvage the original 3 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This had so much flavor, I was so impressed that turkey could be this flavorful in Chili. My husband was so ecstatic when he tasted it and also found out I used turkey. So awesome, Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow!! This chili was delicious with the right amount of heat and taste. I have never felt compelled to rate a recipe before until this one. Definitely will make this again! The only change I made was to use a jalapeño pepper instead of the habanero, only because I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is my new 'go to' chili recipe. My 11 year old picky eater even liked it! The only change I made was to omit the hot peppers and half the 'hot' spices as we don't all like heat in our food in this house. I still added all the spices, I just tempered it to suit all taste buds. I loved the addition of liquid smoke and beer, in my opinion it made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
All I omitted was the liquid smoke because I didn't have it. This recipe makes the best chili I've had in a very long time. I will definitely be making this again. And yes, use the hot chocolate mix. I can't imagine the taste without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Vegetarian Version: Used a meat sub, though would be fine without this, just add more of your bean of choice. For the non-"sadistic spicy food lover" version: halve the red pepper flakes and chili powder, omit the habanero/jalapeno and hot pepper. It was still very spicy to me. Didn't have liquid smoke, used "Gravy Master" Quite a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I added zucchini and also substituted the hot cocoa for a bar of Hershey chocolate ;)) I added chick peas as well, this recipe is Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is my favorite recipe. As a dude who doesn't cook much, it's my "token dish".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States